A Less Stuff/More Memorable Christmas

December 24, 2008 at 12:41 am | Posted in Holidays | 20 Comments

If you will be receiving a present from me in the next two days stop reading. Seriously.

Ok, now we can continue. . . ahhh, anyone ready to actually get down to Christmas?

I AM!

You know why? Because life is good, we are loved, we are blessed, and we can all be thankful. In the spirit of a more meaningful Christmas I decided to hand-make all of my family’s gifts this year! 

Crazy? No. Fun and memorable? Yes! 

Also, Hubby and I decided to forego all gifts for each other this year. Yes, you read that right. Neither of us got each other anything. Why? Well, because quite honestly, we need nothing. Literally Nothing.  It may be my type A anti pack rat personality, but I just feel like we are drowning in stuff. Stuff everywhere. I can’t close my drawers or my closets. My garage is about to become more storage for random things rather than for our cars. I could take a huge load of stuff I don’t need or use to charity right now. I may not be able to wait for Spring Cleaning.

Also, I just feel so blessed this year. I am so aware that there are people so very close to me who are struggling, really struggling. It has really put things in perspective for me how blessed I am. I want for nothing. I am supplied everything I need. My husband and family are wonderful, my friends are the most genuine caring souls, and I am surrounded by people who support and inspire me. I need nothing.  So, we decided to anti-stuff ourselves this Christmas. And can I just say that this is one of the most anticipated Christmases I can remember in a LONG time. 

So I thought I would share with you some of the gifts I have done for my family.

For my baby nephew:

img_07791

Christmas blankets with his initial. He is not even three months old. I will get into the toy buying soon enough! I also made him an Auburn blanket complete with a logo to match that I stitched on. No photo of that one yet, sorry. I also made my Dad one to match! 

For my sister-in-law:

img_0796

I made this huge tote for her to store all of her and baby’s stuff in on the go. I just love the pattern! I hope she will too.

For my Mom:

img_07931

She has been wanting a new bag for all her “Nana” stuff. So here is my solution to the problem. I am in love with all the fabric choices out there. 

Also, I made them all a “baby video” of the boy’s first three months. It will surely bring a tear to all of their eyes. Low-key and highly meaningful Christmas? Almost accomplished!

Here are a few shots of some of my favorite things from around the house:

 

img_0797

Excuse the half-wrapped bags. I still haven’t received some gift wrapping I ordered from the neighborhood kid to “support the school system”  about three months ago. . .oyy. And I refused to purchase more wrapping for an anti-stuff Christmas!

img_08261

img_0798

JOY because that is really what it is all about.

img_07922

I just LOVE getting mail. Christmas cards and pictures are the best. Some blogging buds sent me a few of these!

img_08142

img_08131

img_08151

img_08211

img_0825

I just love beautiful Christmas ornaments!

Well, there is a little sneak-peek of my Christmas! Tomorrow will be full of fun and family and a wonderful church service that I wait all year long for. Highlights to come from that!

Merry Christmas everyone. And Happy Holidays too!

20 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. oh i love homemade christmas! i’m doing the same thing this year!!!

    merry christmas lady!!!

  2. Merry Christmas!!! Love your ornaments 🙂

  3. I love all your homemade gifts!

    Ted and I gave each other gifts our first Christmas together, and we haven’t done it since. People are always so scandalized, but we have such a huge family and already receive so many gifts that it seems silly to buy each other gifts. One of my friends interprets our lack of gift giving as a problem in our relationship…but I don’t need a gift from my husband to celebrate our love.

  4. The purses are so pretty!!!

  5. You are so refreshing.

  6. I am LOVING that bag for your mom….. You want to send me one please!?!?!? Thanks!

  7. how wonderful!!! You are so crafty! Merry Merry Christmas!

  8. Thanks so much for sharing! Merry Christmas!!

  9. Great totes!
    My fiance and I didn’t get each other anything for Christmas this year – we have everything we need right now (and a wedding to pay for, too)!

  10. Ummmm, can I kidnap you for a few days and force you to teach me your mad sewing skillz? And yes, that is “skills” with a z. Means that they’re more awesome than the normal sort of skills. Or something.

    Lovely job on everything – it’s obvious you put so much heart into it all! And I like the idea of no presents between you and your husband. I kind of wish we had done that this year. If we really can’t think of anything to get eachother, why spend the money just to spend it? We’re at the same place…there’s nothing we truly NEED.

    In any case, I want to wish you and your hubby a very merry Christmas! You will be in my thoughts!

  11. What sweet gifts!

    Merry Christmas to you & yours…

  12. I see you got my card! =)

    Merry Christmas!

  13. what a lovely tree. seriously beautiful! I also love the bags. where is YOUR etsy shop 🙂

  14. Oh my gosh, I LOVE that fabric for your mom’s tote, and it’s such a cute shape 🙂 I hope they loved their gifts and that you had a very merry Christmas!!

  15. The tote bags are gorgeous! I would love a present like that. 🙂

    I hope you all had a fab Christmas! 🙂

  16. How sweet! You’re SO crafty, and I’m totally impressed with the totes. Those are gorgeous and so colorful!

    I hope you had a Merry Christmas!

  17. aw those gifts are amazing and so creative, i love it. and love all the ornaments on such a gorgeous tree! hope you had a fabulous christmas!

  18. i love your tree, and how pretty and Christmasy you have your house set out!

  19. Getting Christmas cards is my favorite thing about the holiday season outside of seeing old friends and food. Going to the mailbox every day is like a treat instead of a chore!

    Those blankets are fantastic!

  20. I LOVE the “Nana” bag you made your mom! I would love to get the pattern for that, where did you find that gem?


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

