Think About It-Really

December 17, 2008 at 5:18 pm | Posted in Culture | 15 Comments

I have heard a lot of people say it has been hard to get into the Christmas spirit this year. I have have struggled with that too this year, for selfish reasons mostly. I think it is because we tie the “spirit” to the giving and receiving of tangible things. I know for the longest time that was the case with me. The whole excitement and anticipation factor usually revolved around looking at mounds and mounds of gifts under the tree and only being able to guess and wonder what they could be. That only made it that much more exciting to have to wait until Christmas morning to find out what all could be wrapped under the tree.

That will not be the case in our house this year and as I suspect in many other homes as well. I believe we, as a result of the change that our world is experiencing, are taking a new look at what is really important and finding that a tree with a ton of gifts is not the real reason we get that giddy feeling at Christmas.ย 

I had a great conversation with Hilary yesterday about how we are both scaling way back this Christmas, buying and giving hand-made items, trying to regain the perspective of what Christmas really should be about. How we should really stop to take a moment to be thankful, really grateful,ย to God for how much he has given us. We really all are lucky. Yes, all of us. No matter how bad we think the economy is or how bad you feel you can’t buy as much this year, we have to remember that we (the ones who are reading/typing/twittering/blogging from devices that cost good amounts of money when people don’t have food, clothing, healthcare, etc. all over this nation and all over this world) are the lucky ones. We have so much to be thankful for. That in and of itself is reason enough to be in the Holiday spirit.

I totally stole this from Hil and have been meaning to post it for a long time. Think about it.

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m totally sending this to my family.

    I hope they don’t think I’m a hippie for it. Bah.

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for this, Tipp. It brought tears to my eyes because it’s just so crazy. And true.

    It seems we can’t talk about Christmas without mentioning “so much to do!” in the same breath. Hmm.

  2. Thank you for sharing this! The list of people I am “obligated” to buy gifts for grows by leaps and bounds every year. It is ridiculous. Ted and I don’t even buy each other gifts at Christmas because we receive more than we could ever want or need. A lot of it gets taken to Goodwill.

  3. THIS IS SOOOO AWESOME! I just put it on my Facebook page.

  4. Thanks so much for this much needed reminder, and for our awesome convo yesterday! This video is amazing. I’m going to watch it again!

  5. i love it….. thanks so much for sharing this video!!!

  6. what a great post and a great video. this is a great reminder of the true holiday spirit. thanks tipp ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Thank you for sharing – It really made me stop and think……..

  8. You have really great perspective.

  9. I really like this. It’s so true- we have so much to be grateful for, outside of material things.

    I’m not saying that makes me any less grateful for the Kate Spade bag I received as my first gift last night, but you know.. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I kid, I kid. Thanks for the much needed reminder about the holidays.

  10. I really enjoyed this post! Such a great video…thanks for sharing!

  11. I think this is a great post…Christmas can be a tough time because it is so child & family-focused, too. When all you’ve wanted for years is to celebrate the holiday with YOUR OWN family, it’s tough to know that it may never happen the way you’d planned…of course we have lots to be thankful for…we are truly blessed, but it doesn’t take away the hurt & longing

  12. I’m spending about how much I normally spend for Christmas, but I’ve always been very budget conscious…

  13. Wow Tipp – that video is really very moving.

  14. Very well put – I love this video. So understated.

    I’m very excited to just be together this year. For the first time we’re having one Christmas get together, everyone in. It’s huge because my parents have been divorced for over 16 years now, and I’m so excited to be with my Dad on Christmas!

    Hope you have a great one!

  15. Thank you SO much for sharing this. I know I’m a little late, but it still hit me really hard.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

