Live-blogging Insomnia. Sounds Fun, Right? Wrong.

November 28, 2008 at 2:20 am | Posted in Thoughts | 8 Comments

Everyday I continue to learn so many things about myself. For instance, until today I had myself convinced I am all independent and such. Wrong. Big fat wrong.

This year our holiday found Hubby and I states away from each other. For someone who likes a little “me” time every now and then, I am hating it.  We don’t spend nights apart well, this we already know. Nothing wrong with a little time apart, but when you decide you want to be married to someone and you then spend appx. the next year and half sleeping alone, well, let’s just say that does something to you. Following the deployment that would never end, Hubby and I decided that we would do whatever necessary to never spend nights apart. So much so that I don’t participate in girls’ night slumber parties or all-nighters anymore. I drive home at 4am if need be. Everytime. We don’t sleep well without each other. Trust me, I never thought I would be that girl.

So, after a day of quality time with the family, I found myself wondering what to do with myself. The following is a ridiculous run-down of my contradiction to everything Destiny’s Child sang about in Independent Women.

8ish-Leave parents house turning down multiple invitations to stay so I don’t have to be alone. Arrive home to feed and relieve doggies all the while still contemplating returning to parents house with doggies in tow. Decide it really is too cold to turn and head back to be with family.

8:30-9ish-shower, prepare for bed.

9-10:30-crawl into bed and attempt to settle.

10:35-begin to paroose Youtube for old Friends. Watch way too many six-minute clips.

10:55-talk to Hubby for last time of the night.

11:30ish-click to the ever-trustworthy Hulu and decide a movie is too much of a commitment and land on an old episode of The Office.

11:45-Pick up phone to call Hubby to do a Michael Scott quote talk me to sleep. Put phone down in overwhelming wave of guilt on the chance I might wake him.

12ish-decide against all better judgement to view an episode of Ghost Hunters. I rationalize this decision by telling myself that I will only watch the All Access episode which technically is an interview of the investigators and should not leave me peeking out from under my comforter at every creak and noise. Wrong.

12:35-cringing under the covers at the one clip of the picture frame moving on its own at the old inn in Pennsylvania. Convinced I hear footsteps downstairs. Have minor panic attack and grab phone to call for help. Realize it is Ellie wandering aimlessly downstairs waiting for Hubby to come home. Go retrieve Ellie for both her comfort and mine.

12:40ish-TURN OFF GHOST HUNTERS. Turn to twitter. I am the only loser twitterer there. Great and well, sad. 

12:45-make first real attempt to sleep by making the dreaded move to the center of the bed. Decide it is way too quiet, and visions of picture frames moving still in my head, I decide on Pandora as my distraction of choice. Ingrid Michaelson station is the only obvious station of interest. Attempt to relax. Realize I am singing along against my will to “The Hat” and not sleeping. Recall the last time I sang along to that song was at one of her shows because she forces you to sing. Laugh out loud at the fact that participation is required at an Ingrid show, and if you don’t participate she will call you out and make you regret it. Remind myself that I am not at a show and attempt to stop singing. Fail

12:55-Must roll over to see who is singing the next song. KT Tunstall. Roll back over to turn away from the glare of the Mac that I keep taking off of sleep mode to devulge my curiosity at each artist singing the current song. 

1-1:15-Hear: Ingrid M. and yes, sing along again. Amos Lee. Kim Richey (Katie Herzig does it better). Rachel Yamagata-Skip. Keane-Skip. Death Cab for Cutie-Skip (It is nothing personal, they are singing about lovey-dovey relationships and I don’t want to hear it tonight). Norah Jones-Nearness of You. SKIP. Receive the dreaded “too many skips” notification from Pandora. Curse Pandora. Forced to listen to Norah sing about being near to people you love. Hate her for the rest of the night. Contemplate removing her from Itunes Library entirely to gain revenge. Get a grip on reality and realize I need to chill. Pronto.

1:30-Refrain from calling Hubby for the 8th time since hearing a random noise.

1:35-1:40- Facebook. Email. Twitter. All Lame.

1:45-Make myself again put down the phone. Decide (reluctantly) against texting.

1:50-Continue justifying calling Hubby on the hope that he is still awake after a 5am morning wake-up call, a ten hour drive, and a huge turkey dinner.

1:55-Make final decision not to call by placing the phone under the mattress. Rethink decision based on the fact that if either a masked murder or a ghost comes to kidnap me I will need to call Hubby to say goodbye. Remove phone but strategically place it far away so as to discourage late night desperate phone calls and/or texting.

2:00-Vow to never again kick Hubby in the middle of the night while screaming, “move OVER” when the two dogs and his snoring keep me awake. Continue to let Pandora play. 

2:05-Blog. Realize blogging isn’t helping and listening to doggies snoring only makes me jealous.

2:20-Vow to never again let Hubby leave. Ever. Decide my fate now lies in the hands of Regina Spektor, The Weepies, Brandi Carlile and the like. Accept the fact that I will be up for a long time.

Hope your post-Thanksgiving tryptophan-induced dreams turn out better than mine. Do not call me before noon tomorrow.

Here’s to hoping I get to sleep before dawn. Apparently, I am that girl.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ack. It’s no fun to be away from each other on Thanksgiving. Ted works late some nights, so I can usually fall asleep without him there IF I know he’s coming home in an hour or two. If I know he’s not coming home, well, then I’m up all night checking people’s Facebook statuses 900 times.

  2. I don’t sleep well without BF either 😦 I know how you feel.

  3. {{{Hug}}}

    I totally understand.

  4. Wow that is quite a night. I’m sorry you were unable to sleep and that stinks you guys were apart. If it makes you feel any better, I would have been doing the same things staying up at night.

  5. sorry for such a tough night.. that stinks.. sorry girl!!! hang in there!! xoxo

  6. So not looking forward to my upcoming long distance relationship. Oh noooo.

    Hope you get some sleep!

  7. i have issues sleeping when the bf isn’t there now too. it’s okay i didn’t think i’d be that girl either, haha.

    but hope you eventually got some sleep.

  8. That totally sucks, Tipp. If it’s any consolation, I have issues sleeping alone, too. Once you become so comfortable sleeping next to someone, it’s hard to quit. *hugs*


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

