Say Goodbye to the Pumpkins

November 25, 2008 at 9:03 pm | Posted in Life, Photos | 21 Comments

We, correction, Hubby, is in the midst of Thanksgiving preperation at our house. Every year he takes our decor pumpkins and turns them into homemade pies. It is hard for me to watch my cute little pumpkins die, I am not going to lie.

img_0720

 

img_0727

img_0724

img_0721

As for me, my entire contribution for the night focused on unpacking these beautiful pieces of art. My aunt Cora sent me these this past weekend. During our little visit, we discovered that I had not received anything from my beloved Memow when she died a few years ago. Living so far away just did not make it conducive to getting things from her home when they were packing and distributing. So, she sent me something tangible to remember her by. And they are already so precious to me. We are going to eat a pre-Thanksgiving family dinner on them tomorrow night. And if anyone breaks even one, I cannot be held responsible for turning into a complete Monica.

img_0735img_0741

img_0737

I know Bijou girl will appreciate the Swallows. I find them so interesting since my graddaddy used to be in the Navy and he lives to sit and watch the Martins in his backyard. He builds special houses for them each year. That is a whole story in and of itself. I wonder if he gave them to my Memow? He always did hold a special place in her heart, he was a great son-in-law to her.

I think they are so beautiful. It is a story from my family.

ANDDD for those of you who are telling me you have no idea what I mean when I say “pull a Monica.” Well, here ya go!

21 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. homemade pie! you are a lucky girl!!!

  2. I got my grandmother’s china when she passed away. She never broke a single piece, and I don’t plan on letting them break either.

  3. I hope your husband’s finger is feeling ok!

    My aunt never got married and my grandmother bought her a china set, which my aunt passed on to my cousin and when my cousin got married the china was passed on to me. I love it!

  4. Your husband makes REAL pumpkin pie? Like out of REAL pumpkins???? I don’t know ANYONE who does that! Not even my grandmother who makes every pie imaginable by scratch! Kudos!!

  5. Those are such pretty plates! J and I have his grandmother’s. They’re white with a yellow line around the edge, and I’ve told him I’d rather only use them on special occasions because I’m so afraid someone breaks one!

  6. Ok – first of all – Ron is the cook around here. So I think you and I made a couple of good finds in him and Joe!!!

    Second – I got my Mamaw’s dishes when she died too. And they are blue like yours. The pattern is a little different but same style. 🙂 congrats! I love looking at mine and remembering all the family dinners shared on them. Here is the entry that has my dishes in it – http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/hmschlmomto2/371117/

  7. that china is so beautiful!!

  8. homemade pie is the bestest ever

  9. Two things:
    1) Your man is exponentially hotter because he cooks/bakes. You lucky, lucky woman!

    2) Those plates are so beautiful. I hope people treat them with as much care as you do!

  10. HE MADE A PIE FROM SCRATCH!!?!??!!

    !!

    🙂 🙂 🙂

  11. Joe’s picture could say two things.

    1. “this is how a man helps his wife!’
    2. “I can’t believe I’m doing this crap!”

    Haha! Joe, I freaking love you!

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  12. Wow, I am SO impressed that your hubby actually makes pumpkin pie from scratch like that! I hope you guys have a wonderful Thanksgiving, and those dishes will certainly make the day feel even more special 🙂

  13. I do :), it made my heart dance a little to see them. Tipp they are so lovely & precious.

    I encourage the Monica-ness in order to protect them. They are perfect, vintage, great colour, and most importantly a connection to your Memow.

  14. i would totally pull a monica over something so precious too, haha.

  15. Those plates are so beautiful! Perfect for when the Queen comes over.

  16. I had the privilege of sampling the pie tonight, and I can say, for the record, that it was delicious.

    Joe’s father-in-law

  17. Okay, my daughter has used my computer again and her name was in the system, but I did leave the above comment, not her.

    Joe’s father-in-law

  18. Mmmm…nothing like homemade pie!

  19. Yeah someone would die if they even touched my grandmother’s tea set. They are lovely, good luck with dinner.

  20. I seriously didn’t think that you could make pumpkin pie out of real pumpkins. That is impressive!

  21. I absolutely LOVE the plates! They are gorgeous!

    Also, this post makes me wish I liked pumpkin pie. It’d be nice to be able to recycle them that way…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

