My Ultimate Blogger Meet-Up. Minus Pictures. Boo.

November 16, 2008 at 7:46 pm | Posted in 20 Something Bloggers, Blogosphere, Fun Times | 19 Comments
Tags: , ,

I am so angry at myself. Why? Because I met one of the seriously coolest human beings alive last week and have nothing to show for it. We are both bloggers, both had cameras on our phones, and NEITHER of us took a picture! Seriously, I am sad.

So, who was the fabulous blogger I met last week? Well if you follow me on twitter you know, and if you don’t follow me on twitter, why not?

Ok, really, enough suspense. Last week I met the wonder EP from Stylish Handwriting (oh yeah, I might have mentioned that on a previous Vlog. So much for suspense right? I apparently suck at surprises.)

She was in town to see me visiting her boy who happens to be planted right here under my nose here in Nashville. So, when she came to visit him we decided to met up and “really” meet each other.

AND IT WAS THE BEST TIME. Ever.

We met at one of my favorite coffee shops, which she knew how to get to, thank goodness. I planted myself in the window not sure which door she would come thru and as soon we saw each other we knew it was going to be a fun time. We hugged. We ordered. We sat. We talked. And talked. And talked. And talked. We talked so long her boy had to call and say something along the lines of “have you been kidnapped by some random stalker?”, “are you going to meet me for lunch, it is THREE hours later?”

Seriously, THREE hours later. And it wasn’t enough and we both had no idea we had been talking for that long. I thought it had been maybe 45 minutes or so. For real.Β 

Non-Bloggers People, for all of you out there who give all of us bloggers a hard time for having “imaginary friends” or “random stalkers” Β (yes, I have heard all of this) you all can shut it. Seriously. I have met some of the sweetest, most genuine, most passionate and caring individuals in the blogosphere. Some of them I love much more than my real life acquaintances. You all know. Don’t hate.

There is something so amazing about meeting someone randomly who you have so much in common with and respect and care about who you might not ever have met any other way. I remember the first day EP and I “met” via 20sb. We both joined the same day and on a fluke friended each other and chatted the day away. It was so fun! Now we have met in real life and I am so glad to say that I count her as a Real Life Friend as well. She WILL be moving here soon. Half of our conversation may or may not have been eaten up with us conspiring how to get her here sooner rather than later, but whatever. I am so thankful to have met her. We will be friends for so very long. She is amazing and inspiring and lovely all the way around.Β 

It got me to thinking. I think we all have a group of bloggers who would be in our ultimate blogger meet-up. Who would be in yours? Nothing matters. It is totally imaginary. They can live far or near. Be famous or not. Who would you love to hang with for a day?

19 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’d want to meet Jenn from freeandflawed. I met Jessica from everydayadventuresofmeinthecity when she went to BlogHer in SF over the summer. I’d also want to meet a lot of the guy bloggers who I read. And some of the Pittsburgh bloggers who are here like Mermanda. And a couple of foreign bloggers like Ciel (from prettytear.diaryland.com–she’s awesome). It’d be so cool to meet up with a lot of people whose lives I read about every day.

  2. I’d like to meet EVERYONE on my blogroll plus a trillion others. When I win the lotto I will fly everyone to some fancy place and we will have the best time ever. LOL

  3. Living so close to Chicago, I’ve been able to meet so many amazing bloggers already. However, I would definitely want to meet Ben from No Ordinary Rollercoaster, and Audrey from Sangria Lover (who is one of my original bloggy friends).

  4. How fun!

    I’d love to meet you, Hilary, Wishcake/Kerri, Sarah Marie P, Jimaie, Ev’Yan/Apricot Tea, EP, and a billion more!! πŸ™‚

    It’s kind of scary meeting someone you’ve never met but kinda know, huh? Weird, man.

    I’m with you – I hate that people think blogger buds are not real friends. THEY SO ARE!

  5. I am totally and completely flattered by this post. Seriously. I don’t know what to say other than a HUGE thank you!

    I had a FANTASTIC time with you, as well, and definitely second everything you said, especially the bloggy friends becoming real life friends part. The next time I’m in Nashville, we’re doing sushi. *hugs*

  6. Aw, I’m glad you guys had such an amazing time! I’m not lying when I say I’d love to meet my entire blogroll, but I’d *really* love to meet you! So make it happen. Please?

  7. Oh wow – this is hard. I would have to say everyone in my reader. I can’t choose just one!

  8. I get shockingly jealous when I read that groups of my favourite bloggers get to meet in person. I’m such a brat.

  9. I get shockingly jealous when I read that groups of my favourite bloggers get to meet in person. I’m such a brat.

  10. I would love to meet everyone in my blogroll/reader! That’s so great that you and EP got to meet in Nashville! I’ve said this a billion times already, but 20sb has seriously opened up my world to some of the most amazing people, and I can’t wait to meet as many as I can in person!

  11. That is so awesome! I will be adding EP to my reader ASAP! Any friend of Tipp’s is a friend of mine. πŸ™‚ And I’m raring to go on the Vlog with you! Matt is working every night this week, so I say let’s DO THIS THING!

  12. Sounds like you had a great time!! I would love to meet anyone on my blogroll…I can’t pick just one!!

  13. Oh, and of course- I want to meet Ashley!!

  14. That’s so fun. I’ve never had a blog bling date yet but I’d love one. πŸ™‚ Maybe when Mr. Beagle and I visit Nashville we can stop by and say HI! πŸ™‚

  15. I really would love to meet everyone in my readers… I think it would be awesome to have a meet-up!!! so glad you had a great time!!

  16. There are so many different bloggers that I would love to meet! I’ve already met one in person and it was so much fun!

  17. That sounds like such an amazing time. I’m so glad you had fun!

  18. I would meet Lori from TeacherTurnedMommy and Christy from Cakerwakers..and everyone else on my blogroll!!! hee hee

  19. yay for such a fun meetup. i love meeting bloggers in real life, i can’t wait til i can meet some of my LA faves.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

