We Are Almost There

November 3, 2008 at 2:39 pm | Posted in In the News | 16 Comments
Tags:

In less than 48 hours we will hopefully know who the next leader of our country will be. I am relieved and exhausted for many reasons. While even in the midst of such political, economic, social, and civic turmoil I still believe that we are the greatest country in the world. For all that is labeled “wrong” with our country (and trust me I could make a list just like any of you) at least we are free. Free to speak, free to worship, free to agree, free to disagree. We wake up each morning allowed to make our own choices. That is much more than so many people all over this world. For that alone I can be thankful.

I think this election has been so difficult for me because I know so many wonderful people on both sides of the political spectrum. Both sides I respect, both sides I can see their points. Therefore, it has been difficult for me to hear the constant degrading and disrespect slung from both sides. I just think that we as a nation should be better than that. Yes, we disagree and issues are important, but can’t we just do it respectfully? What good do we think we are accomplishing in the eyes of the world for us to rip each other apart every 2-4 years for the sake of winning an election?

Why do we choose to degrade the choices of friends, family, and aquantinces all in the name of a political party of candidate? Can’t we just respect that they are intelligent, free-thinking human beings who may have an opinion? Shouldn’t their opinion matter to us? Isn’t your relationship with that person so much more weighted and important than any stance or agenda? Unfortunately, as evidenced by this divisive election, our passions have lent themselves to lines being drawn. Lines I had hoped to stay very far away from. I didn’t want to be grouped with an “us” or a “them” side, instead I chose to stay right where I feel I literally am-in the middle.

I am concerned about people loosing their homes in this economy. I am concerned about people being one lay-off away from not having an income. I feel deeply about the sanctity of life in terms of the unborn, but I also am concerned about the millions of children across this world and yes, even in our country, who are not cared for and loved. I want our world to be a clean and safe place for our children, but I also know that to put food on the table and provide health insurance people (at this point) must still drive to work which keeps us a slave to the oil industry. I want my children and my friend’s children to grow up in a world free of tyrants and those who seek to kill and destroy their way of life. I also hope they never have to endure the hardships and separations of Β an ongoing war.

So, where does that leave us? For me, it keeps me right in the middle. Both sides I see good, both sides I see bad. So what is a person like me to do? It has led me to do what I am hoping that everyone who chooses to take on the awesome responsibility of voting will do. To educate themselves, to know the issues, and to seek out God’s will in their right to vote. That is really all we can do. I hope you all are voting or have voted your conscience. I know I am.

And no matter what happens come Wednesday morning or January ’09, it is important to note that no matter who is elected our next leader they deserve our respect, our prayers, and our support. If their political stances differ from yours work to change them, after all that is your right, because you are an American. The next decade will not be easy, not matter who is in office. Just work to make this country better, don’t choose to become indifferent and detached, that is when we will all loose.

Vote your conscience.

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Very nice post. What gets lost in a lot of the political garbage is there is no good guy or bad guy, nor is there even a right or wrong. Everyone wants what’s best; they just all have different ideas of what IS best.

    Vote your conscience, indeed.

  2. Agreed. Wholeheartedly.

  3. Tipp,
    thank you for this poignant and heartfelt observation of this election season. I agree 100%!!!

  4. Oh I couldn’t agree more. I’m stuck in limbo. I just want it over too. I agree, whoever does get elected I hope the economy turns around and things just start to go better for everyone in all areas—-that’s hoping. I am also looking forward to no more politic postcards in my mailbox and ads on TV.

  5. Well stated. I voted early. I’m excited about tomorrow.

  6. i am so ready to vote Bush out of office!!

  7. This is a great post, very well written and well put. Tomorrow is going to be a huge day in our country and I hope when people make their choice, they have really studied both sides of the issue.

  8. I am amped for tomorrow and nervous at the same time!

  9. I am just happy that it is almost over, I am so sick of the ads!

  10. This seems to go with my illustrated real-life experience from yesterday.

    It’s exhausting. Thank God for mothers who are gentler and less abrasive than fathers, that’s all I can say. πŸ˜›

    Much love and respect, as always, Tipp. πŸ™‚ xoxo

  11. the constant disrespect and degrading of peoples political views outrage me.

    i don’t yell at people for thinking the way they do, why yell at me?

    it bothers me to no end. i’ve actually stopped following blogs and twitter people because of their decision to not be respectful.

  12. Well the election is over. Now we need to all come together as a country and support the President.

    Oh and the due date is June 22- ring a bell??? lol.

  13. Interesting, big hugs to all the Americans…

  14. This is a beautiful post. (I can’t believe I haven’t read it until now! Gah!) This time it is I who will say that we must be long-lost twins. Because I whole-heartedly agree with everything you stated here.

    This election has brought so much anger. People on both sides have just seemed so…angry, to me. Shooting the other side down constantly. I hate it. There hasn’t been much respectful debating, as far as I’ve seen.

    At least it’s over, and how (hopefully) we can all join together once again, as much as possible. I, personally, didn’t vote for Obama. But I’m ready to follow and respect him as our president. He’ll definitely be in my prayers; there’s so much that needs to be done, and so much that has been promised.

    I’m ready for change.

  15. I know I’m SUPER late on responding, but I agree with you whole-heartedly. Amen!

  16. I agree, thanks for posting this! I like your v-log, too πŸ™‚ in sickness and all…


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

