I’m Done Being Quiet

September 3, 2008 at 9:35 pm | Posted in Thoughts | 20 Comments
Tags:

I am irritated. I am mad. I am tired of people degrading the military experience of John McCain. You don’t have to support or agree with the man, but you do not have to be disrespectful to his service.

I find it interesting that the people who are so against hearing the John McCain POW story again and again are also the same people who have never experienced firsthand anything about war. Most are of my generation who don’t know much about the war that is currently being fought, much less the wars of past generations. They have not sent anyone they love into a war, or watched the horrors their loved ones suffered through from the effects of it when they return. If you continue to complain about the telling of the war stories you need to be aware that one day you may be faced with a war, perhaps on your homefront, and then and only then can you understand the sacrifice it causes because then it will be a part of your story. 

Only then will you understand the deep and personal feelings it stirs within a serviceperson’s family and only then can you empathize. Until you do, you have no idea the amount of hurt and suffering you cause those people who have served or stood by a loved one who has when you degrade that service and sacrifice. They fought the wars so you won’t have to, remember that, whether you agree with that sentiment or not. You don’t have to support or agree, but you can respect.

20 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. While I don’t agree with everything that John McCain stands for, I can’t take away what he experienced being a POW. Nobody truly knows what he went through unless they have been a POW.

  2. i totally respect john mccain’s service and the fact the he was a POW…hell my dad was in vietnam and earned a bronze star for his service in that conflict. what i don’t agree with is his story being used to win votes (to his knowledge or not). i know the whole terrible POW story, and to be honest, i haven’t really heard much about it during this campaign, so i’m not sure why so many people have their panties in a bunch over him telling his story.

  3. Very nice post. Last week someone was quoted as saying he was “milking his POW experience for all it’s worth”. That was infuriating. I disagree, first of all, and anyone who has been held as a prisoner of war? Feel free to “milk”. You’ve earned it.

  4. I don’t, by any means, discount his experiences. But he uses it like it is the end all and be all of his valuable experience. He should be president because he was a POW.

  5. The one part of Sarah Palin’s speech last night that got me was talking about him being a POW. It was a powerful message. I hope no one discredits his service.

  6. I cannot even imagine how incredibly, insanely awful it’d be to be in a war, let alone be a PRISONER of war. He’s had quite a life, and completely deserves to talk about his past. I would never, ever, evvveeeeer discount how much his experience has shaped his life.

    In fact, he was my favorite Republican candidate because he seemed, relatively, so well-balanced.

    And, honestly, he could talk about being a POW as often as Rudy talks about 9/11 and I’d be completely fine with it. It’s when the party gets cruel and nasty that I can’t handle it. (Not saying both sides have their share of shortcomings, but it seems as though the elected officials shouldn’t be the ones provoking the jeering. Just saying.)

  7. In general I wish that people would stick to the issues instead of arguing over things like military experience and pregnant children. It comes from both sides (look at the spin the Bush campaign put on Kerry’s military experience in 2004) but that doesn’t make it right.

  8. AMEN TO THAT! People need to open their eyes.

  9. Clearly war and the military hit close to home for you. And I don’t blame your views. For me, a person who has not been affected the same way as you, it’s not that I don’t want to hear the stories. I actually do. But, at the end of the day, I do not think those stories alone make a person president worthy. And so, there’s more we want to know. More than just his military experience.

  10. I agree with you completely. This generation just does not understand exactly what it means to serve. I have multiple family members that have served or are serving currently so I have an idea what people go through.

    I respect our soldiers completely. One thing that bothers me the most is when people don’t take off a hat or can’t shut up through the national anthem. I always take that time to stop and think about all the boys and girls, men and women, mothers and fathers that are currently serving in our honor!!

    And as far as McCain goes I personally haven’t been bothered by anything. Almost all elections use the military experience or lack of as ammunition.

  11. WELL SAID!

    And if people have a problem with McCain using his POW story to win votes, then they need to look at the Democrats too.

    I think Biden uses his story about his 1st wife and children who died in the car crash to win votes.

    Same situation. Good people are killed in horrible situations. Both parties are trying to pull at our heartstrings.

  12. I feel like there has been so much hateful talk during this election. It’s really intimidating, so I pretty much stay out of it – which, I’m sure, isn’t the best way to handle it, but it’s just how I react to such harsh words. Everyone is so bitter and hateful and harsh, it seems. It’s becoming really frustrating. To me, at least.

    Thank you for writing this entry; I definitely agree with you.

  13. I totally agree with you, and even though I don’t agree with everything McCain stands for (I don’t agree with everything Obama stands for either) I think McCain is truly an American hero.

  14. Just wondering if my comment didn’t get on here because there were too many links and it thought it was spam. I like to send links when I state facts so people don’t think I pulled things out of thin air. Would you like me to resend without links?

  15. Well said. I try to stay out of most political talks anyways, because most are super negative and involve bashing the other party (i.e. degrading McCarin’s POW story) instead of talking about the issues at stake.

  16. very well put…. I really respect what you had to say!

  17. I’m absolutely not a Republican but I do recognize and respect what McCain has done for our country in the service. That’s something that shouldn’t be disrespected.

  18. I agree with you. I don’t agree with almost none of McCain’s views but my magazine did a story about his experience as a POW and I was blown away. I could not believe someone could endure such torture for so many years. I could not believe his strength. And that you have to respect and admire.

  19. It’s interesting to me how both sides are using the power of a story to win votes.

  20. Very well put, Tipp. While you don’t have to agree with McCain’s point of view, respecting his service to this country is a must. To be honest, I’ve never heard his POW story or read about it, but I’m interested to know. That takes strength.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

