Beep Beep

August 24, 2008 at 3:04 pm | Posted in Thoughts | 26 Comments

Last night I was sitting on my front porch. Just sitting, which is very hard for me, and listening to nothing. I amazed even myself at my ability to be still. My quiet moments usually happen in my car these days, so to be completely and utterly still was so nice. I forgot how I miss it. It is hard for me to slow down and relax. Even at home with nothing to do I am usually very manic about cleaning, sorting or organizing. I can always think of something else to do. Even in the shower, normally a time for most people to stop and reflect, I use it to make a mental list of things to do as soon as I get out.

I know. I need to work on this.

My mom calls it the “road-runner” in me. Constantly moving. Beep beep. Never slowing down. Beep beep. But is it really a bad thing to think that there is something that can be constantly improved or bettered? No, I am sure it isn’t, but there is also some really great things that can come from just being still and listening. I liked itΒ It didn’t drive me crazy. I think I will do it more from here on out.Β 

Is this just me? Am I crazy??

26 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hello,Our name is Angela & Angelica. We just created a new blog, and we would like it of you could check it out, and leave a comment. And you can find great marketing opportunities Thank You

  2. nope. not crazy. i think everyone needs to find time to just sit and relax. i bought a new chair and lately I find myself just sitting on our deck. Bro comes out and is like- what are you doing? “nothing.” and sometimes- that is wonderful.

    glad you found another place for quiet moments. πŸ™‚

  3. Sometimes when I have those moments I think too much!!! It is good to sit down and reflect though.

  4. I love those moments when everything stands still. I need more moments like that.

  5. I need more moments like that myself. It’s very hard for me to slow down and just be.

  6. I’m so bad at just doing… nothing. Even if I”m just on my computer… at least it’s something. I can’t just chill.

  7. I’m so with you. I always like to be doing something- anything. If I’m not, I feel like I should be. But doesn’t it feel fantastic for those few moments where you just are sitting and listening to nothing?

  8. I’m all about the quiet moments. Since I’ve moved, I love to go relax in the pool and stare up into the sky. But I’ve always been something of a day dreamer, too. πŸ™‚

  9. Nope I’m with you. Sometimes I waste so much time thinking about what I’m going to do that I don’t get anything done. I really like to plan things and am alway going.

  10. No, it’s not just you. πŸ™‚ I make lists before I go to sleep, so I fall asleep and hour after I got into bed, and I also make lists in the bath. In the car. *sigh*

  11. I look forward to showering because then I can make to do lists, too. I’m constantly leaving to-do lists up on my computer screen. If I don’t have anything to do, I clean. But always being on the go is not a good thing. Take more of these breaks to just be once in a while, otherwise you risk running yourself ragged!

  12. I definitely, definitely know how you feel. I hardly get time just to rest and think, so whenever I do, it’s a cherished moment. Take advantage of them because they come few and far between!

  13. Sometimes I really wish I knew how to sit still.

  14. i need more times like this too!!!!

  15. One of my favorite things to do is just… be. I’m often busy, but I don’t really thrive on busyness like many people do. I much prefer sitting with my feet up, drinking some tea, and reading a book. And I never feel the least bit guilty when I’m doing that instead of dusting or reading blogs instead of vacuuming (despite the disgusting layer of pet hair on the floor!).

  16. I’m exactly the same way!! I usually find that while I’m in my car I am usually calm and don’t think…it is odd, but I would almost rather not have the radio on so I can have some quiet time.

  17. I’m totally the same way. I can’t seem to sit still at all for longer than 2 minutes. Good for you!

  18. nope, not crazy at all! I do the exact same thing, I’ll do anything to not sit still. Maybe I’m afraid of sitting still and just being with myself. eh, something to think about.

  19. “The Road Runner.” Ha ha, that’s cute. And no, you’re not crazy. Sitting still is something I really need to work on, too.

  20. I share your sitting still affliction. And you know what? While it’s nice to sometimes sit back and reflect, forcing yourself to do so, to become more of something you’re not, kind of ruins the point, doesn’t it?

  21. It’s just you.

    I kid.

    Do you have problems falling asleep too? Because I do. I create to do lists in my head and then prioritize them until I can’t take it anymore and get out of bed and write everything down. If I’m being idle I have to read or write or something to keep my mind busy. I wish I could just relax sometimes.

  22. You are definitely not crazy. I am the same way – I am always making a mental list of what needs to be done and always thinking about what I’m going to tackle next. I have to make a huge effort to have some me time every week and the hardest thing is to not feel guilty during my down time.

  23. Everyone needs more moments like that. Especially in this day and age. Seems like something is always on, the phone is always ringing, the text message chime is going off, SOMETHING is going on. Good for you and keep it up! Maybe I’ll try that this evening on my pretty balcony. It’s gorgeous outside πŸ™‚

  24. Oh, Tipp.

    I could have written this myself (my husband would, I’m sure, agree. He’s always telling me I can’t do nothing. I can’t even just WATCH TV.)

    My mom was like that when I was younger – we’d all watch a movie and she’d clean/fold/iron while we were watching. I remember thinking, “I don’t want to be so busy I can’t relax with my kids.”

    Now, I’m already so “busy” I can’t relax with my husband.

    Oops. It’s troubling when I’m trying to pray, too. A busy mind is hard to shake.

  25. It’s very comforting to know that I’m not the only person that lives with an almost obsessive tendency to be constantly going, going, and going. The doc told me that I needed to spend 15 minutes a day alone, in peace and quiet, preferably reading……I thought to myself, “I don’t have time to sit around and do nothing for 15 minutes a day – that’s craziness!”

  26. […] public links >> beep Beep Beep Saved by gizomatic on Wed 15-10-2008 Giveaway: I Spy Private Eye Saved by Snoop221 on Fri […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

