A New Set of Role Models

August 16, 2008 at 10:03 am | Posted in In the News, Life, Thoughts | 14 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

The Summer Olympics are my favorite. I love the fact that every four years the world, for the most part, seems to stop, watch, and realize that our planet is full of amazing and talented people who may not look like us, worship like us, or live like us, but all in all we come to realize that we are all just people living on a rock.

I love the unity that it brings, the exposure to other cultures that it gives us, and the heroes it produces for us to admire. 

One of my favorite stories so far from this games comes from the example of Nastia Liukin and Shawn Johnson. Comeptitors, teammates, and roommates, they hold many roles to each other.

In the midst of the most heated athletic competition known to our world, these two women have competed against each other and won the women’s highest honors, all the while remaining friends and supporters of each other. They exemplify class and respect each time they speak about their relationship. They went into the competition as individuals, yet they committed to supporting each other as teammates. They said from the beginning that they wanted to go 1-2 in the Women’s All-Around. And they did. But they both understood that one would be first and one would be second. But in the midst of it all they remained each others biggest supporter.

How phenomenal is that? They chose to use each others talents and strengths as catapults to drive harder and push themselves at their own training and aspirations, instead of tearing each other down and competing negatively which would have lead them to ruin.

While they were both each other’s main competition, they remained friends and teammates first, refusing to hinder each other’s goal. 

What an amazing example this is to women everywhere. 

I have been the first-hand recipient of some less-than-nice women all of my life. Instead of seeing me as a teammate or a friend, they chose to lash out in fear of their own territory and in the end it caused great strife and rifts in the attaining of our common goal. I have left jobs because of it, lost friends over it, and refused to participate in organizations because of the drama that some women bring upon their own. Women everywhere, take notice. These two young women have it all figured out. 

Life up your teammate, even in times of competition. Support their process, even at the cost of your own gain. Celebrate their success, even in the midst of your own set-backs. It’s really not that difficult.

And that is why those two young women make me proud. A few medals gold and silver medals are just to boot.

 

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. so true. thanks for the reminder!

  2. Beautiful post. So true and so sad, I’ve found woman to be each others biggest “frienemy”.

    The Olympics have been amazing!

  3. I just love those two girls, they seem like really classy, mature ladies despite their young years. And man, talk about talent!! I really only watch the gymnastics during the summer Olympics, and it’s been rough going for the US this year, but I always love to see how gracious and kind the athletes are toward one another, regardless of the color of their medal.

  4. This is why I love the Olympics! It gives me chills.

    And they totally look like they are about to make out in that picture. Sorry. Somebody had to say it.

  5. Very well said! I really enjoyed watching the two of them compete. I’ve also been watching the swimming, and I love how the swimmers hug, shake hands, or high-five each other after the race. More than anything, it’s about that common love, and about relishing the opportunity to share that love with people from all over the world.

  6. chickbug- thanks!

    Bijou-It is so true. Women can be each others best friend or their worst nightmare.

    Angela- Their parents did such good job raising them. I think they deserve the credit.

    Erin-hahhahaha. I never even thought of that. Shows how much thought I put into picking the image!!

    Phil-that’s right. Its time for our kids to have good role models. Too bad they only have this every four years. I know there is a winter edition, but it never holds the same emotion for me.

  7. I love this story, too. It’s so heartwarming that the two of thems are friends–and they’re so talented, too!

  8. Amen, lady! I love the Olympics for the same reason, and I definitely think women everywhere should take notice of those young ladies. It’d be nice to see that more often.

  9. beautiful. true, women can mistreat each other so badly. This is encouraging me to be an example as well. thanks girl!

  10. Great post Tipp. I do agree, I’ve been hurt really badly by a few women in my life.

  11. This was a really great post!!! I too LOVE the Olympics – and the Summer Olympics are my fav too… But i will say that I do enjoy the Winter Olympics as well(just not as much).

  12. Great post! I love the Olympics too! I wish more people would live like those gymnasts!

  13. As you know, I’m crazy about the Olympics too! There really have been some great role models this year….they are much better than a lot of the famous actors and actresses!

  14. Great post! I could not agree more. I love watching these lovely, poised young women!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

