Why I Fail At Live Blogging

August 10, 2008 at 12:31 pm | Posted in Family, In the News | 18 Comments
Tags: , ,

On Friday night Hubby and I parked ourselves in front of the TV with our Chinese food to watch what everyone else all over the world was watching. I love the Summer Olympics. I used to pretend that I was Kim Zmeskal and Shannon Miller and when I was four my parents enrolled me in gymnastics. I was big stuff. I vaulted, I beamed, I could walk on my hands in a hand-stand for over a minute. I was big stuff. If you never dreamed you were an Olympic gymnast I feel sorry for you.

So this year I thought I would try to live blog the entire opening ceremony.

  • That was the coolest countdown I have ever seen. Great way to start it off China, I especially love that you didn’t just stick to the english numbers. Loved the chinese numerals.
  • Those fireworks were so bright I thought at one point a mushroom cloud was forming. Slight panick is now subsiding.
  • Amazed by the huge screen with no end. Amazed.
  • Was impressed with the commercials, until the skinny girls jeans Old Navy Commercial. No one can wear those things comfortably.
  • Morgan Freeman’s voice makes me a little sad.
  • Just opened my fortune cookie which says, “You take an optimistic view of life.” Then Ellie ate it, yes the fortune itself. Does that still mean it is true?
  • Loved the blossoms coming from the wall. What great symbolism.

. . . and I did not make it any further. Why? Because I was in awe. When they rolled out that huge LCD screen and the Tai Chi masters kept their perfect concentric circles I was gone. I was in awe.

Wasn’t it amazing? I feel sorry for the next Olympic planning committee. I am not sure they can supass or even meet our expectations now. Who is it by the way?

What was your favorite part?

18 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I have it recorded, and I can’t wait to watch it. πŸ™‚

  2. I think the next summer Olympics is in London…

  3. I wouldn’t have been able to live blog it either. It was too exciting! The Winter Olympics are in Vancouver, I believe and then the Spring are in London. I love opening ceremonies. πŸ™‚

  4. Crap I missed the opening ceremony because of a birthday party and didn’t DVR it in HD. Fail. Live blogging is tough. I did it once before and I had to basically listen and type and not actually absorb anything.

  5. I sprained my wrist the same day Kerri Strug messed up her ankle on the vault and still won the gold. My parents told everyone who asked about my wrist that I was vaulting over the couch but still stuck my landing.

    And you’re braver than I for even ATTEMPTING live-blogging.

  6. Yep, it’s London, as others have noted. πŸ™‚

    I grew up on a swim team. I swam competitively every summer for 14 years. I still dream of being in the Olympics. I guess some dreams never die.

  7. I always pretended to be Dominique Dawes when I was on my trampoline.

    The footprint fireworks were AMAZING.

  8. My favorite part was … nothing. Because I wasn’t home to watch the opening ceremonies. And we don’t do TiVo or DVR. Oh well. I hear they were fantastic.

  9. I absolutely loved it. I think my favorite part was when the little boy came walking out with Yao Ming (sp?) who not only survived the earthquake back in May, but ran back into his class and rescued 2 of his classmates, b/c he was the “class leader” and it was his job. So cute!

    And, yes I used to pretend I was an Olympic gymnast. I used to pretend the back of our couch was a balance beam, that is, until I did a cartwheel, missed the couch, and got a rug burn down the side of my leg, as I fell off the couch. Awesome.

  10. i watched it in a bar with fiancΓ© and one of his friends – then two bitches came over and were like ‘we can’t hear the music we put on the jukebox’…which would have been fine but um…this is the OLYMPICS and you’re just playing shitty aerosmith a al 1997. But yesh, it was incredible.

    It was even more incredible watching it on HDTV when we finally got home. πŸ™‚

  11. I sometimes still deep down pretend to be an Olympian… except I gave up on the gymnastics dream and live vicariously through the elite marathoners now!

  12. I didn’t even watch it because I thought it was going to be lame… now I’m sad I missed it 😦

  13. I think it was probably the best opening I have seen and I have been a big Olympics fan for years. When I run, I am an Olympic marathoner although I have never come close to being an Olympian. I think the Apostle Paul may have been an Olympic fan. He certainly challenged early believers to run the race that was set before them.

  14. All the drums and stuff, the sheer number of people involved was immense! How can 2012 ever beat that? I don’t think Londoners will take kindly to being told how short their skirts must be and that they must always smile like the Beijingers have been!

  15. I have yet to see it, but I heard it was nothing short of spectacular!

    P.S. I wouldn’t be able to live blog either. πŸ™‚ At least you made the effort!

  16. i am a big olympics fan…. swimming is my fav!

  17. I didn’t watch the entire thing, but the part that I did watch, I was itching to be there with camera in hand. It was spectacular!

    Also, I dreamt of being an Olympic gymnast even though my dreams of being a gymnast never happened because, even as a 6-year-old, I was too tall.

  18. The next Olympic ceremony will be in Vancouver Canada! And I’m Canadian and have no shame in admitting we are going to let down the world! We cannot compare with any of that! Our ceremony will consist of native american pow wow dancing, and beaver symbols on everything. I will be sad!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

