We Interrupt This Blogcast

August 3, 2008 at 3:50 pm | Posted in Thoughts | 11 Comments
Tags:

I got nothing today guys.

Between the sniffles and the sneezes and the ickiness I am zonked. So, I would like to point you to this guy who gave a great and phenomenal talk today on being the change we want to see in the world. I unfortunately did not get to hear it in person. I was holding babies and playing with the cutest kids in the Nashville area (yeah, our G3 Kids). So, I can’t wait till the video version comes out on the podcast, but it will soon.

But for now, listen to the audio file just like I just did. It is short, quick, to the point and so worth the time.

It is so important for us to be the change we want to see in the world and stop expecting other people to change the world for us. Stop expecting the next President to change the world.  Stop expecting your government to change the world. Stop expecting the religious leaders to change the world. Stop expecting the teachers in the public school system to change the world and on and on and on. Do what you are good at and be the change in the world that you want to see happen.

I also love what he said about the Presidential election. Choose for yourself people.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. It’s the same as our lives, we can’t expect other people to change it for us, we have to get up and make the changes we want for ourselves!

  2. i hope you’re feeling better!

  3. The True Church

    Persecutions of Christians can come in many forms and in different places. You do not have to be in Africa to suffer persecution, it happens right here on your doorstep. There are many precious Christians here in the United Kingdom that have suffered at the hands of their countrymen, and also at their local churches, – – – – – More At Site Billy
    cornishevangelist.wordpress.com/

    EVANGELIST BILLY BOLITHO
    http://www.evangelistbillybolitho.blogspot.com

  4. wow.. that is so true. I’m definitely going to listen to it. Thanks!

  5. Aww, I hope you start feeling better soon!

  6. Tag, you’re it! (See my blog.)

  7. You remind me of Randy Pausch and The Last Lecture: http://www.thelastlecture.com/. Amazing stuff.

    Feel better, hon.

  8. i think that is one of the best messages there are.

  9. AMEN SISTER TIPP!!
    Go on with your bad self, girl PREACH.
    I am so right there with you. I heard an awesome quote from a great woman named Rachel Naomi Remen, who said: “what if you were exactly who you needed to be, right now, to change the world?” Ah, what we could do if we realized it is the small things that make a huge difference, and we don’t have to wait to be famous, or rich, or more talented, or more successful to change the world that we can touch around us.

  10. Hey – I didn’t know you were in Nashville – now I am jealous of you! I’ve always wanted to go there…it’s one of my places to see before I die…have you ever spotted any country stars?

  11. What a great reminder! I’ve been doing alot of thinking about this lately. I find myself foolishly whining about the state of things, complaining about it all…when I realize that it’s mostly up to all of us to make the difference.

    We do need to stop expecting someone to rush in and change things for us. You’re right; it’s up to us. How can we have the right to complain when we’re sitting on our butts waiting around? Seriously.

    Great post – thank you!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

