Redeeming Love

July 10, 2008 at 11:49 am | Posted in Thoughts | 14 Comments
Tags: ,

I love a good book. There is nothing better than carrying a book around with you for two days straight because you can’t wait to see what happens. It has been a while since I have found a book like this, but I just finished Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers and it is going in my list of top five favorite books I have ever read. It has been out for sometime, with almost a million copies sold, but I wanted to wait until I could buy it for myself, just to see what all the interest was about.

Redeeming Love is a retelling of the Old Testament book of Hosea. Hosea had a wife who was a prostitute and God had told Hosea to marry her. He did and in facing the turmoil of her past and the uncertainty of her future she ran away from him. She never knew or was shown love and for someone to want to love her was very traumatic for her. She messed up, she ran away, she fought him. He followed her, brought her back, and loved her through it all, even when she did many things that are hard to love someone through.

Even in knowing the story of Hosea, I found this story so inspirational and more relevant in a more present day telling. It is set in the gold rush of the 1800’s when Angel is sold into a life of prostitution as a young girl. The story follows her through tragedy, heartache, and loneliness. Then there is a man. A man who is lead to take Angel, love her, and make her his own. He does and even though she is unable to understand or comprehend the love he has to offer, his patience and perseverance is astounding. Still Angel felt lost and unsure. Still she couldn’t understand. To follow her on her journey was so sad, so frustrating, and so heartbreaking. There are many ways that many of us can relate to Angel in our own lives.

I think all women should read this book, no matter what your stage in life. If you are single, dating, engaged or married it is a great reminder that there are men out there who are wanting to love you unconditionally for who you are and not who you could be. Hosea in this book shows that there are great men out there, yes, even in present day time. Men who honor and respect, who give and don’t just want to take, and who will love forever. For men it is a great read to remind them of their place with women. To show patience, to show love, and to show forgiveness, just like we all need to do. Such a great reminder too that our God loves us all no matter what our past, our situation, or our circumstances.

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Brilliant, I really need a good book- sounds inspiring, thank you.

  2. yeah i love having a good book to read too. i’ve definitely found a lot lately. but this sounds interesting, i may have to check it out.

  3. Adding it to my list…

  4. I’ve been looking for a good book. Thanks for the suggestion!

  5. Thanks for the suggestion! I will have to check this one out…. You always have great reads!

  6. Sounds good – it’s been added to my list!

  7. Wow that does sound good. I always like stories like that, especially if they come recommended.

  8. i love reading book reviews. and this girl needs a little inspiration.

  9. I’ll have to add this to my ever growing list of books to read! I am so far behind and haven’t been reading lately!

  10. Sounds good! I will have to check it out. Thanks!

  11. I am SOOOO glad you loved it! It has been one of my favorite books for the past five or six years, and I like to re-read it once every year or so just to be inspired by it again.

    I definitely agree wholeheartidly with everything you say about the book. My friends and I used to say we were waiting for our Michael Hoseas. (Not that we were like Angel, but you know.) And it’s exciting to see that some of ours have come.

  12. Sounds good! I’ll be adding this to my to-read list!

  13. This is one of my top five as well! LOVE IT!

  14. My older sister raved about this book and bought a copy for everyone (me included). I remember that after she bought it for me I spent the whole 2 1/2 hour plane ride reading most of it. SO GOOD. You feel so much for each character…and it’s such an incredible love story. True, selfless, trusting love.

    Now I want to read it again.

    🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

