The One Where I Realize My Age

June 14, 2008 at 5:52 pm | Posted in Thoughts | 23 Comments
Tags:

Guys, I am getting old. I am. Really. I feel so old today. Here are a few reasons why:

  • When I woke up this morning, I hear Hubby panicking. “It is 6:20, I am LATE!” (We normally get up between 5-5:30) I respond by throwing back the covers, pouncing out of bed, and rushing to help him get ready. All of a sudden he stops, says, “it is Saturday” and we both head back to the bed like zombies. It is our one day to sleep in and now it is ruined. Work too much?
  • I proceed to get on Twitter. I realize most of my friends are just getting to bed and I am getting up. I remember those days. Now I am too old and had to fight to stay awake until 11 last night. I fell asleep watching David Letterman. Not cool.
  • Rosy is off gallivanting with B-man in the ATL., EP is off with her boyfriend (which is well-deserved, don’t get me wrong,) I don’t even want to think about the fun that Danielle and Dana are having, SandyMc leads an oh so exciting life of concerts and new towns. I can’t. Too many responsibilities. Boo.
  • I seriously eat like a 65 year old man with colon cancer and a cholesterol problem. If it doesn’t have eighty grams of fiber, I am going to sprinkle flaxseed over it. I read Nutrition Labels and worry about my blood sugar and how much red meat and caffeine Hubby consumes in a day. I drink Vitamin Water and Diet Green Tea. I used to live off Ramen Noodles, bagels and cream cheese, and take-out. Now, one too many bowls of queso or an Oreo Blizzard and I go into faux chest pains from the guilt. Like for real. There is something wrong with this picture.
  • The highlight of my weekend so far is buying fish. Yes, people, fish. I know, I am a party animal.
  • As I sit here in my bed at 8 am on Saturday morning, and yes, I have already been up over an hour, I realize I am officially – gasp– and adult. I am not sure how I feel about this.
  • Some days I miss college. I said some days. I miss the dorm when my girlfriends were just a door or two down. I miss my Jen Bran. I miss the ability to stay up all night, and have “suite night” with my four roommates. I miss getting ready for dates without my Hubby asking me what he should wear, and being picked up to go out, and eating out without Hubby reminding me how much money we spend on eating out, and shopping for clothes and shoes and purses and not silverware, and vacuum filters, and dog medicine. I miss house-sitting for people in their fabulous houses with their pools and their game rooms and their horses. I miss having friends over when I house-sat. I miss getting paid to be with my friends, and eating other people’s food, and watching movies in their media centers.
  • I miss not having to worry about how many years my roof will last and paying property taxes. I miss the carefree days of rent, an on-call maintenance man, and a pool and an on-site gym. I miss not thinking about investments and 401Ks and 403Bs and hiring an “investment person.” See, I don’t even know what to call the guy! I need to check that out before we talk in person so I don’t sound like an idiot. I don’t want to think about “rolling funds over” or whatever that means. I don’t want to worry about Bulls or Bears or any other animals besides my own.
  • I don’t want to worry about markets, or stocks, or IRAs, MMAs and/or CDs. I would rather play scrabble. That sound like more fun with letters.
  • Hubby keeps talking about his Ten Year HS Reunion that is coming up. Mine is next year. Wow.
  • Also, people ALL around me are having babies. Everyone. Well, almost everyone. My Brother (Whoa!), friends from college (a few of whom are having twins- WHAT?), and an old friend of mine, Tiffany, just had a baby with Down Syndrome. Guys, this blows my mind. Not only is she now a Mom, she is a mom of a child with seriousย special needs. And she is my age. I can’t fathom.
  • I find myself already saying, “Yeah, that was back when I was _______.” Fill in the blank. A teacher, a therapist, an administrator. Seriously, how old am I ? How many careers can I have?
  • I miss carefree weekends with nowhere to be, no expectations to live up to, and no responsibilities. Sigh.
23 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I definitely act too old for my age!

  2. *sigh I know the feeling.

  3. I love your blog design and I too sympathize with how you are feeling. Remembering when I could stay up almost all night, get an hour of sleep and be productive the next day. I am just coming to terms with the fact that I am ready to buy a house with my husband. I feel “adult” that somehow a house is now an important and necessary step to feeling secure. Wow! my ten year just came and went and when I thought about how much I have changed in what is really a short amount of time I am boggled.
    We have exchanged pizza and beer for cheerios and fruit juice. Late nights with girlfriends chatting…for early to bed and rushing to work in the morn.
    But I wouldn’t trade this age for the world. With this age I don’t feel alone, I know the value of some free time and I appreciate the security I have gained emotionally.
    Overall it has not been a bad ride.
    Take some time if you can and go out on a “date” with your hubby. Maybe for some pizza and beer. Youth just recycles itself. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Oh gosh I totally know how you feel. Great post!

  5. i’m 23 and i feel allll that too.

  6. wow, very intimate post.
    I can see what you’re saying though… so many things to do before you “feel” old. You can still be crazy and stay awake all weekend, it’s just not a priority now. hehe.

    I’m turning 24 next week and feel like it’s all coming way too fast! Hence my planned trip to the UK next year, where I can go wild with no responsibilities before I’m too old.

  7. I know how you feel.. I too, fall asleep at 10 p.m. or so, and I can’t be bothered to go out on weekends.. CAN’T BE BOTHERED… LOL

    That and I also freak out on weekends forgetting it’s the weekend

  8. I think age is definitely a state of mind. Just get out there and do stuff that makes you feel good and happy don’t worry about the age factor. Life is too short!

  9. I’m a few years older than you. And just a few months ago, my fiance and I were upset we have no more carefree time. So, we have designated one day a month to be our day. We can take a road trip. Or spend the day watching DVDs. But, it’s all ours. And we don’t have to answer to anyone. Though it doesn’t take us back to the good ole days, it does give us a break once in a while. Maybe something like this will work for you, too?

  10. other than the food part (i eat like CRAP) i know the feeling.

    ugh. im turning 28 in a few weeks!!!!

  11. I wish I knew the feeling – I feel like I stil think I am seventeen and reckless. Although i am getting better with my 27 days of sobriety.

  12. If it makes you feel better I’m only 22 and already married (most of my friends have at least one kid), go to bed by 11 or midnight most nights, and get up early on Sat and Sunday morning. I don’t really feel old but don’t act my age either.

  13. You’re not old kid! And i love the B-man name! Fantastically creative!!!

  14. ugh I know the feeling– just the other day I had a mini-freakout over what a boring adult I am becoming. I hate it.

  15. You are NOT old because of those things. I say that because I do many of the same things so if I’m not old, you’re not either!!!

    Yeah I get up early (involunarily) on the weekends and I get on Twitter too. I usually find though that friends are going to bed when I’m getting up. Sad!!

  16. AK- what is the deal??

    Ria- yeah. It seems to be an epidemic

    Girls take on it- Great suggestions. Thanks!

    EE- AHH, to be 23 again, ๐Ÿ™‚

    Bronnie- I never want to feel old!

    FB- I cant be bothered either! Too much!

    GI 1218 – I totally agree, I am working on it!

    Nilsa- I LOVE that idea! I will work on that. Sometimes the easiest things seem so simple don’t they?

    Alexa- ME TOO! June babies rule! We were born so close together. Yea cancers!

    K- good for you!

    PP- I have been there!

    Amz- B-Man, Batman, I liked it too!

    Maxie- I never want to be a boring adult either! It is my worst fear!

    Jess- It is sad isn’t it!!

  17. Oh, Tipp. I absolutely LOVE this post.

    I can relate. So much.

    Last time I was home, my dad told me I was an adult because I was awake and drinking coffee at 8am on a Saturday. I eat healthily (and am all about the flaxseed! I got ridiculously excited when I read that…shows how grandma-like I really am.)

    Steve Carrell hosted SNL a few weeks ago, and I couldn’t stay awake to watch it. I’d rather crawl in bed with a book at 10pm than try and stay up…

    One of my college roommates just had a baby – I literally ran around our apartment freaking out: “A girl MY AGE has a CHILD! A CHILD! A CHIIIILLLLLDDD!”

  18. I have to add, though, that I’m happy with the cozy, homebody little life I lead. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I remember as a sophomore in college, I was getting ready to go out to a club with my roommates and I saw a couple go into the grocery store in their PJs to pick up a movie and frozen pizza. I realized then that sort of lifestyle was SO much more me. The whole getting dressed up, meeting guys thing seemed empty…I guess I’ve been old for a while! haha

  19. Isn’t it weird? I have been realizing my age recently, too, and it’s a little unnerving watching everyone around you doing grown up things and realizing that you’re doing them, too.

  20. I can relate to some of those…and I’m only 21. Responsibility is a cow.

  21. Thank you for befriending me on 20SB! I just had to leave you some thoughts and encouragement, especially on this post, because I echo your sentiments all the way. I’m caught in between this limbo where I feel like I’m still 17 years old and I’m jolted into the reality that I’m quickly approaching 27, and it seems so surreal. I still have to pinch myself when I find out my friends are engaged/married/having babies — wasn’t it just yesterday that we were too young fot this stuff? Geez. You’re not alone, and I wonder if we’ll always feel this way?

    WONDERFUL blog — I’ll be back! ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. yeah married life is weird. good, but weird. however, i wouldn’t trade it for being single again.

  23. Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

