I’m A Duck

June 8, 2008 at 8:02 pm | Posted in Thoughts | 10 Comments

This weekend my Pastor, continued his series about achieving our potential in life, in our faith, and in our place in the world. One of my favorite thought provokers from this week was, “God gives us a choice. He allows us to make a decision in this equation of how big our life will be.”

According to him, people have different ways in dealing with life. He asked which one we are:

• A duck; calm on the surface, but churning below, worried, fretting, over-stressed, under-compensated.
• A parrot; repeating only what you hear, adapting to and becoming like those around you and adopting it as your operating software.
A frog; jumping the gap is a way of life.

It is absolutely no question which one I am. Yep, I am a duck. I am the person that can appear all calm and put-together, but under the surface I will be worn-down, stressing, worrying, and going 100 MPH. I am not one to wear my heart on my sleeve or share my feelings so it is always the brave face that I need to put on and show to the world. I constantly worry about the things I can’t change and the things I can, the things that are in my control and the things that aren’t. But I never show it. I am good at looking graceful and coordinated on the surface, but underneath I am one to be constantly moving just to stay above water. The thing about ducks, they don’t make a lot of ground, even with all of that kicking.

I need to be more like a frog, jumping over the gaps, shortening the distance between the things that should be and what is, making the gap in faith a shorter jump.

“All serious men and women of faith need to understand that there’s a gap between how it ought to be and how it is. There’s always a gap between our knowing and our doing. The wider that gap, the weaker our faith; the shorter that gap, the stronger our faith, but the gap never goes away. There will always be a gap between believing and receiving. The question is, do you have the kind of faith it takes to jump from one gap to the other rather than just sitting and bemoaning the distance?”

Case in point: I need to be a frog, not a duck. Sometimes you just need to jump and stop kicking.

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. no more quack quack more ribbit ribbit.

    say it with me, ribbit ribbit

    : )

  2. Wow I’m totally a duck too. If it walks like a duck….

    Also, I tagged you for a musical meme 🙂 No pressure.

  3. I have to say I used to be a duck but in my older years I have definitely become a frog.

  4. That is a fantastic analogy. I’m striving to be a frog from now on.

  5. I’m with you- I’m a duck too. I’m generally really good at convincing people in my day-to-day life that I’m fine with everything- but oh, if they only knew.
    I’ll be striving for frog-ness right with you!

  6. Oh I’m most definitely a duck too.

  7. At times I am definitely a duck. I’ve been becoming more and more like a frog though and I am really proud of myself. There comes a point when you realize that you just can’t control the world or other people. You also realize that you are doing the best you can and that’s ok.

  8. I think that maybe sometimes we need to be a combination of both cause frogs can’t swim and ducks can’t jump the gaps. You wouldn’t want to be a frog that’s stuck in the middle of a pond with no lily pad. I like the idea : )

  9. I’m a cross between the duck and frog. Weird.

    We should work on this together!

  10. I am usually a duck too…I always try to now show my feelings and be strong, except on some really bad days when I just lose it. I’ve discovered recently just how bad this is for me and the people around me though, so I’m with you and striving to be more frog-ish!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

