May 27, 2008 at 7:58 pm | Posted in Thoughts | 16 Comments

I need a new Bible Study/devotional suggestion. Anyone got any that they have really liked or enjoyed?

While on a quest for a good new book today my very loud RENT ringtone goes off in the middle of a very Southern Baptist Bookstore.

Fabulous. Nothing like bringing a junkie stripper’s song into a Christian bookstore- that was for Mae.

People were eyeing me from behind the choir robes.

For those of you who are upset by that, just pretend it was Mary Magdalene singing it. Does that help?

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I am thinking but my brain is fried! I did too much thinking for one day!

  2. lol I’m not sure about the devotion suggestion, but I seriously love when people’s phones go off with ringtones that are inappropriate for the environment. 🙂 Just because it’s oddly funny for like 30seconds. 🙂

  3. It’s not a devotional exactly…but have you read Shane Claiborne’s “Irresitable Revolution”?? SUCH a great book. Amazon or Google it and check it OUT. Great stuff.

    “The Gift of Peace” by Joseph Cardinal Bernadin is amazing, as well. It’s a short book about a man (the bishop of Chicago, I think…?) who is dying of cancer and the lessons he learns. Actually, it’s not depressing at all, even though it totally sounds like it’d be.

    Those are just awesome faith-filled non-fiction books…so not really Bible studies or devotionals…so, I’m not really answering your question. Sorry! Be sure to tell us what you chose!! (And what are some of your favorites??)

  4. I’ve actually been wanting to find a good devotional too. Recently I’ve been reading through Hebrews on my own, but could use a guide. Let me know what you come up with!

  5. I just bought a daily devotions journal by Jewell Johnson so I’ll let you know how that goes. Let me know what you decide on? 🙂

  6. lol that was a funny episode…though i might say i thought it was cute 🙂

    my cell group just finished a series on Romans, which was pretty good. it’s such an evergreen, i see new things in it every time i read it. we’re now doing a mini-series on Angels, i can’t remember the book we bought for it though. tell you if it’s good!

  7. I’m not sure if I can gelp in the buble studies/devotionals area, but I can give you 4 GREAT, probably the BEST and the EASIEST reads ever… Check out Emily Giffin… I’ve read all 3 of her books – and I’m now on her fourth… I finished them in 2 days… So if you ever looking for a fun page turner – check her out.. Sorry I couldn’t be more of a help!

  8. sorry – I meant help in the bIble studies/devotional area! I think it’s still too early, LOL….

  9. Too funny! Sorry I can’t be any help to you in that area. Good luck though.

  10. That ringtone story is hilarious. Kind of like the person telling a completely inappropriate story and hits the peak of the story just as the room gets quiet. Yeah. That hasn’t ever happened to me or anything.

  11. haha i seriously laughed out loud when you said “Nothing like bringing a junkie stripper’s song into a Christian bookstore”, love it.

  12. HA! Love that last line 😉

  13. Haha! I wouldn’t worry too much, I’m sure they are all praying for you right now!

  14. I love Rent so I totally appreciate that story…let me know if you find a good devotional…I have been searching for one, myself!

  15. Man it could have been a much worse ringtone that went off in the bookstore, like “big pimpin” or “firestarter”.

  16. Oh, wow. Despite that being horribly embarassing, thinking of it being Mary Magdalene makes it better. Like, amazingly better.

    As far as a devotional, I read “Captivating” a while back as one. Maybe that if you haven’t picked it up?


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

