Jenna: Not the Traditional Bush

May 11, 2008 at 2:28 pm | Posted in In the News, Photos | 21 Comments

No matter what your politics on the Bush White House, none here thank you very much, no one can deny that Jenna Bush is a deserving person.

She has spent the last few years interning with UNICEF in the country of Panama. If you saw the Diane Sawyer special on her and her book, you learned that she never once used her position as the first daughter to be treated differently. She applied, was accepted and worked as an intern just as any other college student would have. She never flaunted her position or used her stature to skip to the top. When many of her students and their families were interviewed by Diane Sawyer, none of them had any idea she was the President’s daughter. To them she was just their beloved teacher. I greatly admire anyone who is a teacher and one in the public school system and teaching abroad no less.

Her wedding was performed before sunset in front of a limestone cross which served as an altar. She looks so happy. I am glad she chose to go the non-traditional, no-fuss route. I thought she looked beautiful. I also love the fact that instead of a ton of bridesmaids she chose to honor the women she trusted most by having them participate in a house party, which is a Texas tradition.

I wish this was the tradition everywhere. No marching, no standing, no tears in front of people. Just give me a seat and let me sit and enjoy the ceremony. The best part of being in a wedding is the prep time just being with your girlfriends enjoying the time before the ceremony. She gave them that without all the “standing-up” drama. And that rocks.

What did you think of the wedding? The dress? The house party vs. attendants?

21 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m not a fan of the Bush family in general but I did think this was a beautiful wedding. Everything just looked really elegant.

  2. I think her dress is absolutely gorgeous–although it is Oscar de la Renta, so not all THAT no-fuss 😉

    I’m not sure what a house party is, but the morning of our wedding, all of my girls came over to my parent’s house for a brunch then I had a hair and makeup girl and a manicurist come over to get us all spruced up before doing our pictures and heading to the ceremony. I loved having that time with them where we could all just giggle and be silly, but I also love seeing them standing up there next to Colby, smiling at me as I walked down the aisle. I’d never give up that memory!

  3. I was really curious to see what the dress would look like (saw a sketch in People and wasn’t sure how it would look in person) and it’s insanely beautiful. LOVE it and the hair. Perfect.

  4. She looks beautiful! I love it.

  5. really? no attendants? I thought she had 14 bridesmaids and they all wore shades of blue. Was CNN making that up?

  6. i think she looks wonderful and so happy. and i think its awesome that she didn’t have a whitehouse wedding.

  7. i think she looked very beautiful… And soo very happy!

  8. Ooh pretty. I don’t care who you are, everyone is gorgeous and deserving on their wedding day 🙂

  9. Very pretty. Eager to learn more about the event. I think it is interesting she chose a non-White House venue.

    Sorry I made you stand up in front of people! 🙂 Thanks for doing it! 🙂

  10. She’s wearing a gorgeous dress!

  11. I love her dress! So pretty!

  12. i thought it was all perfect.
    and while i am a bush whitehouse fan, i thought jenna did her wedding representative of her relationship, of herself. i heard she wanted a very “organic” ceremony and it seems she had it.

  13. I didn’t really follow the wedding at all, but I have seen her dress a lot. I don’t think I like it very much.

  14. She looked gorgeous and the photos were sweet. I’m also glad she chose to do things her way.

  15. I like the fit and form of the dress. But I’m not sure that I’m wild about all the embroidery all over it…it makes the dress a little fussy for my taste.

  16. She is beautiful, and I love the dress. I agree that she is a very deserving person, though I didn’t follow much of her wedding. From what I’ve seen it was beautiful!

  17. I love her dress. It reminds me of mine!

  18. Thanks for this post. I tend to dismiss the Bush White House, which is often extended to the family as a whole. I’ve got to admit. Take politics away. Jenna looks gorgeous. And happy. And at ease. I can only hope that’s the way I look on my wedding day.

  19. It’s safe to say that I am NOT a fan of the Bush white house, but you are right on about Jenna. I’ve seen her in several interviews and she is very deserving. And her dress is phenomenal – I LOVE it.

  20. Although I am not a Bush fan at all- I do like jenna. I have enjoyed her every btime I have seen her in an interview and I really respect her work. She looked beautiful at her wedding.

  21. I’m sorry, but what is a house party exactly? I’ll have to look into that. Sounds interesting. I’m going to be the MOH this summer for my sister–ugh, I’m nervous as heck!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

