A Great Find

March 21, 2008 at 6:13 am | Posted in Advice, Friends, Tech Gal, Thoughts | 17 Comments
Tags: , ,

OK People. I have found it.

It is brilliant. It is my favorite. It is my new home page.

Perhaps I am very late to the game, but stay with me.

I have found Google Calendar.

With my upcoming job change I am moving away from ten calendars on my Outlook at work that I must keep updated and up to speed with. So in my search to simplify my life as well as mesh my personal and professional responsibilities I came across Google Calendar.

And It. Is. Amazing.

I asked my girlfriends to make one and now we can all sync our calendars. This alleviates twenty different emails trying to decide what day is best, what part of town is best, and if we are all free on a certain day. I sent one to my Mom who is now calling me on a daily basis asking if that is my car on the side of the road.

Wonder why she would ask that?!

Now she can take a look at my calendar and see where I am and where I am going. She may not be happy to know all of the places I am going. She does better under the “not knowing” mind-set, especially if it is a late night.  My Momma worries, she loves me, even though I am a big girl.

This is the best thing ever! I can keep up with when my girlfriends are going out of town on business, when we have school commitments, personal commitments, and even, doctor appts. that I want to check with them on.

It is the best thing I have found in a long time guys!

17 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I already have Google Reader, Google Analytics, G-mail, and Blogger… And you’ve just convinced me to try the Calendar. Let’s hope it goes better than my foray into Google Docs.

  2. I agree the Google Calendar is AWESOME! I love it!

  3. My homepage is Netvibes. It’s SUPER customizable, and you can even add gmail widgets and Google Calendar (and almost everything else under the sun). And you can create different tabs to organize things (blogs, news, mail, etc). It’s the best thing ever.

    EVER!!!

  4. I love Google Calendar. I have one for church stuff, work stuff, events/appointments, personal stuff, gym, etc. You can color code them and choose which one you want to see at one time. It’s definitely my favorite option!

  5. Angela- yeah, Google docs drives me batty too. I have used it and documents are too big, too small, boo, I agree, but I love the calendar!

    AYWTC- Ditto girl.

    Heather- umm, that thing is awesome, I just checked it out and it will help me keep my FOUR emails straight, rockin suggestion girl! Caffeine it up!

    Britni- I have beautiful colors for each of my girls, it is silly, but it makes me happy!

  6. I am a huge fan of everything Google. GCal is one of the best things ever…it literally keeps my life together.

  7. Google Calendar definitely is useful, I have used it on several occasions, woo!

  8. *coughs* Looks like I’m late to the party. Will check out asap. 🙂

  9. Larissa – good to hear from you! I need ANYTHING that keeps my life together!

    Katelin – ditto girlie.

    Jane- you are not late, in fact you are HOURS ahead of us all! 🙂

  10. I’m going to have to look into this for sure. Thanks for the info! I’m all about consolidating my calendars. (wait, was I the last one to not know about this? figures…)

  11. I love both Google and Netvibes though for convenience I use Google more often.

    The better to stalk you with ma deah – as they say.

  12. This is so funny and timely for me– when my work computer refused to keep running Entourage, I decided that a web-based calendar would be a better idea and, lo, Google Calendar! They can seriously do no wrong!

  13. I had NO IDEA that existed. And I’m about to make one for myself because it sounds convenient and awesome — I mean, honestly, being able to sync calendars? Sign me up!

    Thanks for passing it along! I hope you’ve been having a lovely week!

  14. I am a little late too! I have never heard of it, lol!! Maybe if I had more friends, it would be beneficial. 😉 But that is awesome. Anything to help stay on top of things is okay in my book!

  15. Grandy- I feel like I am always the last to know things too!

    Oh Cooper- You know I stalk you too. I am working on the netvibes, I think I am going to love it. I have been meaning to ask your take on the latest Obama news. Thoughts? We should chat.

    Megan- I am waitng for the day they do wrong, I hate to think that something could be so perfect. I am learning that I am becoming less of an optismist everyday, Is that reality?

    EP – Isn’t it THE BEST? When you going home? Your freaders miss ya.

    Meagan- how you stay organized with kids is beyond me. It couldn’t hurt girl.

  16. I love google calendar too. I have so many things going on in my life… work events, working out, and things in my personal life that it helps to keep me organized. I put everything on my calendar so when my boyfriend wants to know what’s going on, he can check the calendar at any time.

  17. Genius – I don’t know how I’ve missed this since I love all my google gadgets. While I was checking out the calendar I also found Google expense manager and Google todo list. The to do list is my favorite – I don’t know why, but I just love to do lists.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

