Better Days

March 11, 2008 at 2:40 pm | Posted in Life, Music, The Others | 8 Comments

Today I feel like I am living out the lyrics of a good song, “World Spins Madly On” by The Weepies. I never feel as though everything I set out to do can be done. I can’t be there enough for people who need me, especially when they are hurting. I am troubled by external circumstances getting in the way of my success. I am hurt when people do not use their words wisely.

“Everything that I said I’d do like make the world brand new and take the time for you, I just got lost and slept right through the dawn, and the world spins madly on.”

The crazy days just keep coming and coming with no consolation sometimes. I am yet again feeling overwhelmed today. These past few days have been difficult.

I have seen a friend from work walk away from a job she loved and was excellent at because of the incivility and disrespect of others. It is hard to understand people when they seem to loose all sense of decorum and humanity, when they go to great lengths to manipulate another person. I realize deep down that they are acting out of hurt, but it still makes me angry. Watching her pick up the pieces has been difficult and being there for her seems unrealistic at this point because I have no solace to offer.

Another girlfriend lost someone very close to her today. I wish I could be there to wrap my arms around her and tell her to just cry, but I can’t. She has to be strong for her family in many ways and I would love to be there so she would have someone she could fall apart on. It is difficult when someone you love is having a hard time and there is nothing you can do about it.

Someone hurt my feelings today – badly. It hurt the most because of who it came from, someone who has known me longer than most people on this earth. This family member and I have never been particularly close, distance being the main reason. There are other reasons too, but they are not important. She said something to me today that hurt me so bad I couldn’t talk to her anymore. I lied and told her I had to go. She didn’t mean it and I am sure she has no idea that I am hurt, but that does not change the way I feel. I am sure following our conversation someone told her it was something she shouldn’t say to me, but now I have no idea how to remove it from my head. It is there. Stuck. And I can’t get it out.

And in the never-ending drama that is my car, Old Non-Faithful, that is what I am naming her, left me on the side of the road yet again with another flat tire. I literally laughed at the situation. You cannot write this stuff. Well, I guess you could, but who would believe it right? I am not sure I would.

But, the light is shining at the end of the tunnel in many ways. My friend will heal, my hurts will heal, and eventually my woes will heal. Good things are coming. Good days are coming. So, my new adopted song is an old favorite from the Goo Goo Dolls.

“And you ask me what I want this year and I try to make this good and clear just a chance that maybe we’ll find better days.”

“Cause I don’t need boxes wrapped in strings or designer love or empty things, just a chance that maybe we’ll find better days.”

Better days are ahead. I can feel it.

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. aww Tipp I’m sorry that you have so much weighing on your mind right now. You have such a great outlook, it’s contagious. My favorite quote is “everything is okay in the end, if it’s not okay then it’s not the end.” It always helps me when I’m going through rough times. Keep looking to those better days, and keep smiling!

  2. I really hope better days start tomorrow for you. I hate it when someone says something that hurts you even if they don’t mean to- it never goes away no matter how much you want it to.

  3. Hurtful words are much more painful to me than the most thoughtless action. I think because I can forget the action after a short time but the words? They just roll around in my head forever. Hope tomorrow is a better day for you 🙂

  4. I’d rather someone hit me with a fist than words. It’s harsh. I hope you feel better soon. That your day brightens up.

    I believe you about the car… 🙂

    **hugs**

  5. That’s really frustrating, Tipp. It’s hard to watch those around you struggle and not be able to help, other than just being there for them. It’s a tough position to be in. And no one likes having their feelings hurt, especially from a family member.

    I hope that things start looking up soon. (:

  6. You have such a positive outlook, it’s really great to see. Don’t overwhelm yourself with the fact that you can’t give those people want you want to give them, chances are being there for them is more than enough. Everyone will be okay in the end, and I’m sure you’re handling it all perfectly.
    Better days! 🙂

  7. Or another song will work ladies,

    “Tomorrow, tomorrow, ….

  8. 1. I love The Weepies, and I especially love that song.
    2. I’m sorry that everything seems to be crumbling around you. May things get back on the right track.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

