I Gave In

March 4, 2008 at 1:51 pm | Posted in Advice, Family, Movies, Tech Gal | 7 Comments
Tags:

I don’t ever do things just because everyone else is doing it. It is a old trait that I never really grew out of. My parents taught me to be independent-minded and think for myself and it has kept me from a lot of drama in my day. I am usually the person who sits back and judges a situation fully before I dive in. I figure that if it is worth waiting for it will be there when I am ready to take advantage of it. (Case in point Hubby also falls into this category.)

It usually takes me just a tad bit longer to splurge on extras, but when I do I am hooked. There has been one thing I have been resisting to join and I think I am the last in the universe to jump on the bandwagon.

Finally, I gave in. I couldn’t resist anymore. I had to.

I joined Netflix.

I miss watching movies. Weekly. When I was a teenager I lived at the movie theatre and at “C’s” house watching tons of movies. Well, Hubby is not really a movie buff. He prefers to do more constructive things and while I can’t argue with the fact that he wants to change every single light fixture in my house, sometimes I just want him to freakin’ sit down and relax a minute and watch something that is not ESPN related.

And. We. Are. Going. To. Do. It.

We will enjoy watching movies together if it kills us. He has so much catching up to do and I am going to rejoin the land of imdb fanatics.

My current queue look something like this and my first choice, Once, is due to be here tomorrow! Thank God it is Spring Break and I actually have time for some guilty movie pleasures!

  • Michael Clayton
  • Becoming Jane
  • Away from Her
  • Why Did I Get Married?
  • La Vie En Rose
  • American Gangster
  • Gone Baby Gone
  • Becoming Jane
  • Into the Wild
  • Casablanca

Any suggestions for those of us who have been left behind the past few years?

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Boyfriend and I have been contemplating joinging netflix.

    Check out Factory Girl. Je t’aime Paris. 2 Days in Paris.

  2. Michael Clayton and American Gangster are great!
    I’d recommend Die Hard 4 and No Reservations. (Hmm.. I’m random in my movie choices, Bruce Willis and Catherine Zeta Jones.. haha)

  3. My old roommate had Netflix, and I miss having it. Maybe when I have a real person job, I can afford something like it because, like you, I miss watching new movies on a weekly basis.

    I hope you absolutely adore Once. It’s one of my fave movies from this past year. You should also check out Ratatouille because it is REALLY cute.

  4. I was a huge fan of Netflix and then the similar Blockbuster plan, but we cancelled our subscription over the summer because we never got around to watching the movies. But I’ve really missed having the movies on hand to watch, and I think I’m going to sign up again in May when we get back from the honeymoon. I hope you enjoy your movies!!!

  5. thanks for all the input ladies, you are all the best!

    I am updating my queue as we speak!

  6. I loved Becoming Jane!

    We don’t have netflix here so I’m not sure how it works.

  7. I joined Netflix for a while when I had to watch movies for a college class and absolutely loved it. I can’t justify it right now because it doesn’t fit in the budget… but I love Redbox. Oh and by the way, Becoming Jane is great.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

