On the Flip Side

February 25, 2008 at 2:23 am | Posted in In the News, Issues, Military | 6 Comments

Of all the feedback I received to “A Piece of My Mind – Not Wanted” and “On That Note” this was my favorite. This response is from a dear old friend who I respect and admire, not only for his full time service in the military, but also for the way he perseveres against obstacles that get in the way of his dreams. He is months from being deployed and preparing to walk the walk of a soldier on the front lines. He has allowed me to quote him and share his take on my thoughts. I appreciate his words on the matter and I wanted to share his insights.

“It’s funny how most people with no contact with the military always assume that when folks refer to the “sacrifice” of the service members and their families they always assume it means getting killed in some awful place. I think my wife would agree with what you are saying. We got married 23 Dec 06 and have been together for about 2 months since then. I know for me I just keep in mind that what I do, I do so other folks don’t have to. That’s not to say I dont enjoy my job, but it does come with some huge sacrifices. ”

“As far as the other one goes, I don’t think there’s any way to peacefully deal with pure evil. Until there is no more, I think we have to be ready to fight it with force. It would be nice if everyone could figure out that this is not a very productive exchange, but that is not a very realistic outlook. You know as well as I do that Satan is alive and well and strong as Hell and as long as he is, people have to be ready to deal with others who fall under the sway of evil. ”

“The best way I’ve heard it phrased is , ‘All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.’ I can’t remember who said that but I believe he was right. [ Ed. note: it was Edmund Burke] Good people have to be ready to stand up and fight for what they believe in, not just what they are against. You can’t be for justice but not stand against injustice and you can’t be for good and not stand against evil.  As long as I can look in the mirror and know that I am doing, what I can to make a better life for those not strong enough to do it on their own, then I’ll keep pushing back. ”

“When it seems like a really terrible deal and nothing good is coming from all this mess, you just have to remember that we are giving a lot of people something they would never have without us. Freedom. Something we take for granted.”

Well, I think that is all we need to say about that.

I think now we can put this issue to bed. Can we really say anything else? I don’t think so. Thanks to everyone for your feedback, your thoughts, your ideas, your opinions.

 Keep ’em comin’! 

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi Tipp! I love your blog! And this entry…wow.
    I don’t even stay in America, what with the war and everything and this touched me. It can be applied to all countries in time of strife.

  2. […] On the Flip Side- February 2008 […]

  3. […] He is a helicopter pilot who has trained, prepared, and planned for this deployment for years. He is the solider who still believes in the mission. He believes there is a better way for the people of Iraq. He believes in the cause. He is willing […]

  4. […] He is a helicopter pilot who has trained, prepared, and planned for this deployment for years. He is the solider who still believes in the mission. He believes there is a better way for the people of Iraq. He believes in the cause. He is willing […]

  5. […] He is a helicopter pilot who has trained, prepared, and planned for this deployment for years. He is the solider who still believes in the mission. He believes there is a better way for the people of Iraq. He believes in the cause. He is willing […]

  6. […] He is a helicopter pilot who has trained, prepared, and planned for this deployment for years. He is the soldier who still believes in the mission. He believes there is a better way for the people of Iraq. He believes in the cause. He is willing […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

