On That Note

February 23, 2008 at 8:00 am | Posted in Issues, Military, Thoughts | 5 Comments

I cannot believe the reaction I received to my latest post. The out-pour of emotion and empathy and support I have received has been very overwhelming. I wrote my last post as a means to inform, not as a means to influence or persuade a position. I know most of you didn’t take it that way, but I do feel the need to say that I am the least political person you will ever meet. I do not endorse or back a particular party or candidate. I tend to be very middle of the road. I can see both sides of most left wing/right wing debates, with a few that I am hardcore for or against.

All that being said, you will not find a bigger military supporter than myself. I am proud of the job my husband did and yes, I feel the world is safer place because of it.  I have to believe in the job that he did for his time spent away cannot be in vain. I believe that the Iraqi people need to see how to live free before they can actually embrace the idea of a democracy. It is like teaching people to do something exactly opposite of anything they have ever known. It will take time. We must be patient. I have to believe that the country of Iraq will one day be a prosperous, democratic nation. They deserve the right to live free, to be educated, and to live a life that they can enjoy while not forfeiting their culture or their way of life.

Therefore, I believe that the men and women who leave their families and their homes  and their lives to support a cause in a time of war or peace deserve our utmost respect and support. They have the most difficult job and I stand behind them.

With that being said I must also be very adamant when I say that I hate war. I hate the idea of it, the history of it, and usually the reasons for it. No one likes it, I get that. I believe that the toll that it takes on generations can never be undone. We are decades from Vietnam, Korea, and WWI and WWII and we still hear the stories of the heartbreak, the separation, and the difficult returns. I have family members who still bear the scars of long ago wars, who never speak of things that they encountered. The wounds go so deep. I am not sure anything but death can relieve them of those images and memories. I simply believe that there has to be a better way. My heart cannot withstand the thought of families torn apart, people displaced, homes and lives shattered as a means to reach an end.

I hate the fact that a few evil men in history have and have had the power to create some of the worst conflicts known to humankind. I get that the world needs to be eradicated of tyrants and dictators and men who seek to harm and possess and demoralize. I just believe in my heart of hearts that there must be better way to go about removing them. I will never be convinced that it is impossible to accomplish this without destroying the lives of men, women, and children and without protecting their homes, their culture, and their way of life.

If shooting and bombing was an acceptable means to settling all disagreements, we would be at war with each other every day. Our places of work would be battlegrounds, our churches would be littered with casualties, and our homes would be brought down in rubble around us. There has to be a better way.  What are we teaching our children when we allow evil men to lure us into their world of violence and treachery? I believe we must rise above and show the generations to come that there is a better way of dealing with those who we disagree with: without force, without the bloodshed of millions, and without a world living in fear.

I do not pretend to have all the answers, all I know is that I would love a world at peace. Haven’t we learned our lesson yet? This is not working. We must find a better way.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I want to call you Izzie after reading that blog. “I believe….”
    In the words of my mom, STEPH FOR PRESIDENT!

  2. […] Of all the feedback I received to “A Piece of My Mind – Not Wanted” and “On That Note” this was my favorite. This response is from a dear old friend who I respect and admire for […]

  3. Thanks for letting me know about these posts, they are fascinating and so real, much more worthy than watching this election coverage.

    I look forward to getting to know you further.

  4. […] Five years ago today we entered a country by force to rid it of it’s dictator. I have already given you a piece of my mind on that and on war in general. […]

  5. […] is no secret how I feel about war and my thoughts on a nation full of young veterans. As for the presnt day situation, I still feel […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

