R&R

February 20, 2008 at 12:02 am | Posted in Just for fun, Thoughts | 1 Comment

Do you ever read the Rants & Raves on Craigslist? I frequent them sometimes and they are hilarious! I have a few of my own this week:

  • To the plumbing company: If you advertise your business to be a 24/7 on-call emergency service, you better mean it! If it is Saturday and my crawl space is threatened with flooding, do not tell me that your first availability to make it to my home will be Monday somewhere between the hours of 8 and 6. That simply does not work for me. Emergency service means you come now before I need to file a flood insurance claim.
  • To my college professor: If you make an assignment which involves research and a class presentation and you tell your students you will send them the necessary information to complete the assigment, do not wait until 11:30 the night before the 8 am class to send out said information. This does not work for me either. Can you say professor evaluations? I can.
  • To the man on I-24 with the creepy grin who drove beside me for an uncomfortable length of time, keep moving. I do carry mace and yes, I have taken a self-defense course. Although I still do not sleep with a knife under my pillow, as per recommendation, I still think I can take care of business if need be. Don’t even think about it.
  • To the person who tried to convince me that Eat Pray Love is the memoir of the century, you need to expand your literary choices.
  • To Facebook: stop sending me notices via my personal email. I hate that.
  • To the Vandy student who felt it necessary to cut off two women walking with very full trays through The Commons today. My friend almost wore her entire glass of tea because of you. I do not think you are better than me, I don’t care how much money your daddy has, and someone should have taught you some social decorum. Oh, and take your Ipod out of your ears or at least turn it down so that you can hear other people within a three foot radius of you.
  • To all Vandy students: While I am on this train, when you are walking down a public street perhaps you should move to the sidewalk when a car is coming. But then again, you are Vandy students and the whole world revolves around your schedule. Pardon muah.

Ok, so there are no raves – whatever.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I haven’t found a better way to do this, but if there’s a particular Facebook application that’s bothering you, they usually have a link in the email to a place where you can change your settings, and you can set it so that you’re only notified on Facebook instead of by email. I wish I could find a way to set it that way across the board, but I haven’t yet.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

