So Glad Its Over

February 10, 2008 at 4:12 pm | Posted in Family | 1 Comment

These past two weeks have been a blur, hence the lack of not blogging. I have been way too busy. Although it looks like school may not kill me this semester, it still is quite enough work to keep me busy on a nightly basis, not to mention the weekend class attendance. (Whoever came up with such a stupid idea should be fired!) Our class time is less than productive, more like a formality. Our teacher honestly had us playing Hangman to reinforce vocabulary words, not a good idea to try to teach hangman as a game to an Iraqi refugee and a Somalian refugee. Let’s just say those poor guys think that we as Americans are quite sick. I would actually agree with their disgust after trying to explain to them for the 5th time the logistics of this game. Poor guys!

Anyway, I also couldn’t not talk about the fact that I had one of the worst scares of my life during these past two weeks. It all started two Sundays ago. Hubby was on his 3rd week of working 6 days a week 12 hour days. (He still is doing this, but I digress – in frustration) He came home from church with a really high fever and went straight to bed. He still got up the next two days and went to work. I KNOW, there was nothing I could say! Tuesday night rolls around and he gets up in the middle of the night to go get some medicine downstairs. He was having trouble sleeping and he thought another dose might help him get some sleep. It was about 1 in the morning and since he had to be up by 4:30 to leave home he wanted to get some sleep. I heard him get up and go into our guest bathroom right outside our bedroom. I got up and went into our master bath. He was up and I might as well be too. I was in there when I heard a huge thud. My initial thought was, “he just fell down the stairs”. We have both done it. He blames the electrician who wired our house for not putting the light switches in the right place. I called his name. No answer. Oh crap. I ran around through our room and see him lying half in the bathroom and half in the hallway.

From this moment on I did everything wrong. You are not supposed to grab a person up when you have no idea what is wrong with them. You are supposed to check for breathing and a pulse. I did not think to do that either. I just shook him and shook him and yelled. I don’t know for how long. I ran to get my phone. (Thank God I plugged it up in my bathroom that night and it wasn’t in my purse in the car where it usually is). I shake him one more time, he finally comes to. I ask if I should call 911. He says something incomprehensible. I dial. He passes out again. I am freaking in a very calm kind of freaking. I have no idea what I said except that I needed someone, he is blacked out and not responding and I live at this address. After I tell the man my street address he says, “Ok, we are sending someone right now”, and then, are you ready for this, – HE HANGS UP ON ME. Mind you, my husband is still unconscious on the floor and I have no idea how to help him and the 911 system HUNG UP ON ME! I didn’t call them back because I thought at that moment they were trying to call me back, and even if they weren’t who knew who I would get if I tried to call them back. Then they might think I was prank calling and not send someone at all, then I would really freak out!

Oh, but that is not all, TEN MINUTES LATER- YES, TEN MINUTES- the paramedics show up to my house. Mind you, I live in a very small town and Icould jog to the EMS station in ten minutes. NOT HAPPY! By this time, hubby has peeled himself off the floor and is beginning to ask me what happened. I honestly have no idea. My parents show up. I called them when there was no 911 consult and the paramedics were taking their time. My Mom is the best. She asked all the right questions, better than the sorry paramedics my town had to offer. I was not impressed with the whole situation. Since hubby was up and walking and seemed to convince himself that he was Ok, he refused to go to the hospital and we were to go for tests in the morning. Needless to say I did not sleep a wink that night. I was so afraid he would have a seizure or pass out again. I wanted to be ready for anything.

Next day, test, doctors, and more test. They come to the conclusion that he either passed out to such a high fever or had a seizure and fell. No way to know. All they could do was send him for more tests to see if they could make him have a seizure so then they could track it. He passed. I can’t say I blame him. The thought of trying to stress your body out to the point of having a seizure does not sound fun.

He is better now, the doctor says it is almost like his body needed to reboot and that is what happened. Sounds strange and not very comforting because they can’t tell us exactly what happened. But all is well now. Thanks to all of you who called, wrote, offered to bring food, visit and help in any way. We appreciate it so much!

Now to get him to slow down- good luck with that!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] I mentioned how absolutely enraged I get when public service operators hang up on me? SO, not the day to do that to […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

