Stepping Up

December 7, 2007 at 11:18 pm | Posted in Thoughts | Leave a comment

I am starting to learn that I am very lucky. I have had a few people come through for me the past couple of days. They have listened to me rant, rave, gripe and complain. They have been my therapists. They know who they are and I want you to know that I appreciate and love all of you!

One of them calmed me down yesterday in the midst of one of the worst email rants ever. Another listened on the phone even though she was super busy. I felt much better after it was all over. It was very therapeutic. These people have gone out of their way to offer help, step in, and fill in the gap way above and beyond the call of friendship. Not only have they listened but they have taken up for me and made me feel justified, but still they have helped me keep reality in check. That is so important to me for someone to let you know that you are not crazy for feeling the way you feel. It is nice to know that you can count on someone when you get frustrated with the world!

Also, “work Momma” has done it again! I came into work today and she says, “When you get to your desk don’t look down, look up”. (What a great metaphor for life – she tends to be a dispensor of wisdom like that) I was like HMM, what could it be? I go into my office and on the shelf over my desk is a perfect New York skyline made of the most beautiful antique and yes 3-dimensional postcards. They were hand drawn and amazing. There was so many of them I was so overwhelmed! Statue of Liberty, St. Patrick’s Cathedral, and The Empire State Building were just a few of the buildings and landmarks in my skyline. Being the crafty gal she is she even made me these little miniature snow white Christmas trees because as she said, “You are going at Christmas and it has to be realistic for you” She added, “Now when you get stressed the next few weeks, just imagine little old you walking amongst those buildings and it will all be worth it.” Tears ensued. It was so touching! My boss and other people from offices next to mine came in to see what all the fuss was about. They thought it was so cool. My boss said he is jealous of me. He just got back from 2 weeks in New Zealand and he spends many “work trips” going to Miami (and I had to go to Kansas, What?!), so no sympathy necessary for him!

Anyway, it does not get any better than that for me! It was thoughtful, creative, and relevant. It was the most amazing thing to be so “thought of” that she spent all of that time gathering the supplies, making the trees, and picking a day I would be out of the office so she could set it up to surprise me. She got a big hug! It was one of the nicest things anyone has EVER done for me! I cried a good bit I am not going to lie! I tried to take a picture of it but my silly camera phone is terrible so when I go back Monday I will take a real picture to share with you all!

Thanks to you all for stepping up!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

