Another Little Celebrity

November 22, 2007 at 4:15 pm | Posted in In the News | Leave a comment

A few weeks ago, a friend of mine shared an advance article with me from Parenting Magazine. She and her family were in a feature article called, “Life With Anthony” It is the story of their family living with her son who has Down Syndrome. It discusses Anthony’s birth, his diagnosis, and the family’s integration with their new child. They were interviewed about nine months ago for this piece, so some of the milestones they had hoped he would reach he already has! It is a great article about a great family. Unfortunately, the Internet version does not include the great pictures that accompany the hard back magazine – they were simply precious. I am so proud of this family. As my friend and I talked she teared up at the thought of her son growing up. She is optimistic and hopeful for her son’s future. I will never forget what she said to me, “I give him all of the tools to help him reach whatever potential he wants to reach, not because I have set a standard for him to reach or I want him to be like my two other boys. He is his own person and we love him”. I love the fact that the article discusses that children who are in contact with a person or a family member with a disability are more empathetic and accepting of other people. They learn respect, kindness, and caring far faster than other children who have no contact with children who may not be like them. It is a great argument for inclusion. Check it out, I wanted to share my newest little celebrity!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

